30 DPC: Day 4 – Doing Things Right vs Doing The Right Thing

Good Thursday evening! I’m back for Day 4 of my 30 Day Philosophy Challenge with Cumuloq.

The question for today is, “Are you more worried about doing things right, or doing the right things?”

I was actually wondering why this question is in the list. I thought its rather superficial and I don’t know what to say. So, I took a sneak peek at Cumuloq’s Day 4 response and I laughed to myself! I also think this question was accidentally chosen for being nice-sounding than its substance. Oh wells. Let’s still shake things up!

So, am I more worried about doing things right, or doing the right things?

People say that “doing things right” means being effective while “doing the right things” mean being efficient. Practically speaking, I’d like to say that I’m more worried about doing things right, that I’m being effective. I’d like to say that I put so much thought into something before doing it to ensure that the process and output is perfect.

Photo Credits: Pix Shark

Photo Credits: Pix Shark

However, honestly speaking, I’m pretty sure I get more worried about doing the right things. No, no. It’s not about efficiency or having an “Economics” mind. It’s not about me being lazy or not having enough time. Instead, I want to know the purpose and importance of what I’m doing. For example, when organising an event, I want to clearly know what I’m supposed to do and their relative importance. I don’t need the miniscule details or step by step process. I can come up with that. But, I do prefer knowing the big picture and rationale behind things. Where does what I’m doing fit in? Is there a better way to do this? Subsequently, I can plan my to-do list, arrange my priorities, and complete the tasks accordingly. I can even make constructive suggestions if allowed. I think that by ensuring the process is correct, a person can do something with better competence than someone who masters the step by step operation. You can have intellectual inputs as opposed to blind followers. Similarly, it’s easier for me to know my purpose, understand that there’s a good reason behind this, and hence, know that this is the right thing to do.

I think these “worries” become even more prominent when making seemingly huge and crucial decisions. I was job searching recently and the whole “am I doing the right thing” dilemma was unceasingly hunting me. Should I quit my job or not? Should I take this career path or not? I mean, I know how to prepare resumes, search job sites, and answer interview questions. However, I didn’t feel comfortable proceeding without knowing if I’m making the right decisions. Moreover, if something doesn’t feel right or appropriate or aligned to my values, I find it difficult to proceed. Wasting an opportunity or taking the wrong path are mistakes which I’m really afraid of committing. Nonetheless, once I know what the right thing to do is, I go on autopilot on completing the task properly and correctly. I’m not very much worried about that.

Henceforth, wondering if I’m “doing the right thing” always ends up being the bottleneck in so many things in my life. I take an incredibly long time wondering “should I be doing this?” “Is this the right thing to do?” “What would you do if you were in my feet?” I think that when doing something, it’s easy to check when you’re doing it correctly or not. That’s black and white. However, knowing if you’re doing the right thing? That tends to encompass various shades of grey. It can get subjective, according to the person’s purpose and values. And, this complexity makes me worry a lot more. What if I’m making an enormous unrectifiable mistake? But, I guess that’s when it’s important to be aware of our personal principles and values. We have to make decisions we are comfortable enough to live with it. That’s like choosing the puzzle pieces which, in turn, compose our entire life. Hmm… This reminds me of what W. Clement Stone once said, “Have the courage to say no. Have the courage to face the truth. Do the right thing because it is right. These are the magic keys to living your life with integrity.”

So, yup. That’s where I stand. I gotta do the right thing, my friend.

Photo Credits: The House of Anubis

Photo Credits: The House of Anubis

Thanks for dropping by. See you again tomorrow for a routine versus spontaneity question!

Cheerios! 🙂

Leave a Reply

