30 DPC: Day 1 – How old would you be if you didn’t know how old you are?

Welcome to the first day of my 30 Day Philosophy Challenge! For the next 30 days, Cumuloq and I will be tackling one question every day from this “list of philosophical questions.

tumblr_m074tfV8S91r9qd2co1_400 (1)

Photo credit: CBC Music

To begin, today’s prompt is “How old would you be if you didn’t know how old you are?” 

Honestly, I don’t think I can give you an off-the-bat number for this. For a 26 year old woman, I feel a whole range of age within me so I’ll share some of them with you below.

During the “time of the month,” I feel that I’m a 3 year old toddler. Most of my actions and emotions are unfounded and irrational. Words fail me and I feel like an alien in the world. I’m just as baffled as anyone else when I reflect on my what I’ve done. One minute I’m laughing at the silliest things and then, the next minute I’m crying over the most irrational things. I crave for random food but I can’t decide whether I prefer something sweet or savoury. Honestly, I’d much prefer hiding in my pillow fort.

Some days, I feel like a 12 year old trying to say something witty but my logic and rationale totally failing me. It’s like I’m trying to be older but pathetically getting ahead of myself. It’s like I’m trying to portray myself to be better but, I don’t even know what “better” means. Mostly, I’m just trying to understand the world and figure out where I can fit in.

However, at times, I feel like a 30 year old woman who’s doing well in putting her life together.I’ve started carving out my career path, managing personal finances, and growing healthy relationships. I seem to be successfully establishing my personal values and principles, developing my spiritual faith, and prioritising the important person and activities in my life. And, it all feels great!

On some days, I feel like a 21 year old with my whole life ahead of me. It seems that the world is my oyster. I’m blessed with talents and and skills and numerous years to do anything I want. I’d have light bouncy foot step full of hope and optimism for what is about to come. It’s not always perfect but the future is still very bright and promising.

Unfortunately, on some days, I feel like a 55 year old lady who has gone through so much. I feel too physically and emotionally exhausted to carry on. It’s like I’m single-handedly carrying the world’s weight on my shoulders. I can probably still push for more but I’ve certainly passed my prime so it requires more effort to do the same things. Oh, poor poor me.

Yup, I’m melodramatic and oxymoronic and I also don’t know what that means. I can’t even answer a simple question properly and gave a whole range of “ages” instead. So, I guess, I’m have to average those out in order to answer this question. That would [(3+12+21+30+55)/5]! Henceforth, If I didn’t know how old I am, I would say I’m an average of 24.2 years old. And, that’s a wonderful thing! On average, I feel younger than my actual age! That means I’m young at heart! And, that’s a great info to remember on long dreary I-need-to-retire-soon day. So, thank you.

If I totally confused you, please just refer to this gif:

tumblr_lrdwbiwowH1qdonrao1_500

Photo credits to: Incorrect Punctuation

How about you? How old would you be if you didn’t know how old you are?

Well, let’s head on over to Cumuloq‘s to see what she says. And then, I’ll catch you tomorrow as I share about the things I’m most grateful for.

Cherrios! 🙂

Leave a Reply

