Finding My Way By Loving God Back

There are days when we feel lost and confused. The world is your oyster, they say. But what does that mean? What should you do? You might still be in school, working, in between jobs. Regardless, it’s normal to feel uncertain or unsure of the path that you are taking. The what if’s, should have’s, might have been’s are infinite! And, we are often inundated with various opinions, ideas, ideals – who we can be, what we can do, where we should go. There’s just too many possibilities, too many choices, too much voices! The more we talk to people, the more confused we tend to get. But if we don’t talk to people, we can’t sieve through the multiple voices in our head as well. Either way, we can’t seem to seem to hear that one voice that matter; We can’t figure out who to listen to anymore; We still don’t know what to do.

After a weekday evening mass during Lent, I bumped into a friend in church and she shared her dilemma with me. “There’s so much things happening recently! Everyone is saying something and I can’t figure out what to do!” Then, I have no idea what came over me because despite some frustration that I’m going through as well, I surprisingly told her this…

“You’re at a point in your life when you are trying to figure things out. Everyone can be at that point, any time of their lives, no matter how certain and secure they look. And, I’m sure you’re overwhelmed by all the voices you are hearing. Everyone talking is making you more confused than ever. It’s fine. It’s normal. But, amidst all these voices, let me just remind you one the One Voice that matters – God’s. Through Christ, you are his beloved daughter with whom He is well pleased (Matthew 3:17). Remember that you are fearfully and wonderfully made (Psalm 139:14). You are precious, priceless, and greatly loved by Him (Isaiah 43:4). Hence, you can trust that whatever He does is because He loves you. And, if you believe that, you will feel His love better and clearer. And, subsequently, I’m sure that you’ll choose something to show you love Him back as well. By aiming to love God back and doing so, I’m sure that whatever it is, you will be on the right track.” 

When reflected at the end of my day, I realised that this was something I needed to hear for myself as well. And, I thanked God for reminding me of this while helping others. It’s certainly one of my “wildhoney” this Lenten season.

Then, this being the holy week, in remembrance of Jesus Christ showing His love for Our Father and saving us sinners, I thought this is a good reminder to share. You, dear reader, are also His precious child. Wherever you are, He meets you there to continuously show how He loves you. My question is, do you love Him back in every step you take in life?

tumblr_n9ntxustbE1r6lhroo1_1280

Photo credits: hecallsmelovely

Leave a Reply

