30 DSC Day 30: All Time Favourite Song

This is it! Day 30 of my 30 Day Song Challenge. It’s been 30 days of a roller coaster ride, of success and failures, from this challenge and from the rest our lives.

I’ve been thanking Cumuloq for doing this challenge (blog post and life) with me. And, I’m going to say it again, “Thank you very much, dear Cumuloq. You’re the best!” If you haven’t done so, please do visit her blog as she has successfully completed HER 30 Day Song Challenge as well. We have slightly different taste in songs but there are certainly some hidden gems in there.

Today, for the final day of this challenge, I’m sharing my all-time favourite song — Lifehouse’s “Everything.” 

It’s a really old song dating back to Smallville Days. Firstly, I like that it’s sung by my age-old favourite band, Lifehouse. I’ve been listening to them since their “Hanging By A Moment” days when I was 10 years old! Haha! I had a crush on a guy who liked alternative rock. Embarrassing days! But, that opened my world to a whole lot of Lifehouse music so thank you!

I like this song because it was played in the TV series Smallville as well. So, as you can tell, the song “Everything” has been in my life growing up. I really like the its melody combined with Jason Wade’s voice. I think it’s very comforting to have that pillar of strength in your life. Someone’s who’s your everything. I enjoyed listening to it for years, especially during long bus rides on a rainy day. It just puts me into a pensive and reflective mood.

And then, when I started becoming more serious about my religion, I found out that this is a song about a man’s relationship with God. And, it all just clicked and fell into place! It’s a song about God! And, I fell in love with this song even more! I could relate to how this guy is longing for God to take care of his life. He believes God can and will be everything he needs. As such, he just wants to surrender everything to his God who has given him everything and will do everything for him. It reminds me of how small I am in contrast to how powerful and majestic God is. And, at the end of the day, He is all I want and need in my life.

Find me here, speak to me
I want to feel You, I need to hear You
You are the light that’s leading me
To the place where I find peace again

You are the strength that keeps me walking
You are the hope that keeps me trusting
You are the light to my soul
You are my purpose, You’re everything

How can I stand here with You and not be moved by You?
Would You tell me, how could it be any better than this?

You calm the storms, and You give me rest
You hold me in Your hands, You won’t let me fall
You steal my heart, and You take my breath away
Would You take me in, take me deeper now

How can I stand here with You and not be moved by You?
Would You tell me, how could it be any better than this?
And how can I stand here with You and not be moved by You?
Would You tell me, how could it be any better than this?

‘Cause You’re all I want, You’re all I need
You’re everything, everything
You’re all I want, You’re all I need
You’re everything, everything

In fact, if you’re interested, here’s a skit put up by a Christian group during at Winterfest in Knoxville Tennessee.

Yup. So that’s Lifehouse’s “Everything” – my all-time favourite song.

How about you? What’s your all-time favourite song? If you need some ideas, please visit Cumuloq‘s blog for her song choice.

Again, thank you very much for following me through this challenge. It’s been a wonderful song-filled journey. If you’d like to see what my other posts regarding this challenge, you can find them at this 30 Day Song Challenge link.

Leave a Reply

