30 DSC Day 26: Favourite Sad Song

Hello, welcome to my blog site and my 30 Day Song Challenge. I have been doing this for the past 25 days with my best friend, Cumuloq, so if you haven’t visited her site, please do (link here).

Today’s topic is very anticlimactic as we share about our favourite sad song. So, in view of keeping a Happy Wednesday, I’ll try to keep this short, okay?

1. AJ Rafael & Yeng Constantino – Let Me Get Over You Getting Over Me (Heartbreak Medley)

As inspired by yesterday’s “favourite foreign language song”post, one of my fave sad songs will be a song from the Philippines as well. Don’t worry, it’s in English but this video is a cheat. I couldn’t choose between Jimmy Bondoc’s “Let Me Be The One” or MYMP’s “I’ll Never Get Over You Getting Over Me” but when I searched for it, lo and behold – there’s a heartbreak Medley by YouTuber AJ Rafael and Filipina Singer Yeng Constantino. The sad feeling might not have been very obvious as compared to when you listen to the song separately, but the idea is there. Plus, this video is super good quality so here it goes.

From Jimmy Bondoc’s “Let Me Be The One“:

Let me be the one to break it up
So you won’t have to make excuses
We don’t need to find a set up where
Someone wins and someone loses
We just have to say our love was true
But has now become a lie
So I’m tellin’ you I love you one last time
And goodbye

From MYMP’s “I’ll Never Get Over You Getting Over Me“:

As long as the stars shine down from the heaven
As long as the river runs to the sea
I’ll never get over you getting over me

2. Ariana Grande & Nathan Sykes – Almost Is Never Enough

Yup, I’m surprised that I have this on my list as well. I initially thought I’d share Beyonce’s “Best Thing I Never Had” or “If  Were A Boy” or Rihanna’s “California King Bed” or Christina Aguilera’s “Reflection.” But somehow, today, I decided to opt for this. It’s another song about two people’s love for each other not being enough. And how poignant it is since Ariana and Nathan eventually broke up as well. Sigh… But, I guess, love’s like that. You either love the person wholeheartedly because 99% just isn’t going to cut it.

“Almost, almost is never enough
So close to being in love
If I would have known that you wanted me
The way I wanted you
Then maybe we wouldn’t be two worlds apart
But right here in each other’s arms
And we almost, we almost knew what love was
But almost is never enough”

3. Wonderland – Nothing Moves Me Anymore

The emptiness of this song….is just epic. It’s like your heart is so terribly exhausted that you’ve eventually given up on all the nonsense and emotions the world is burdening you with. And because of this, you’re just an empty shell moving in autopilot. And, even if you want to care, you can’t because your heart can’t take it anymore. You’re so drained of all emotions that well, “nothing moves you anymore.”

“Nothing moves me anymore
I’m as cold as a stone
I was flesh and blood before
Now I’m only skin and bone
There are no signs of life
I’ve never felt this empty before
(Yea, I-yea, I-yea, I-yea, I-yea)
Nothing moves me anymore”

Okay, as promised I’ll keep it short. Please do drop by tomorrow again for a definitely more cheery post about my “favourite pick me up” song. All the best for the rest of your week. 🙂

Leave a Reply

