30 DSC Day 25: Favourite Foreign Language Song

Wow. Thanks to today’s 30 Day Song Challenge topic, I was sent back to the songs I listened to more than 10 years ago. And, thanks to the power of YouTube, I even caught up to some of my favourite celebrities – what an informative waste of time.

Anyway today, I’ll be sharing my favourite foreign language songs. So, for the first time ever, I’m going to be sharing some of my favourite songs from the Philippines, sung in Tagalog.

1. Parokya Ni Edgar – Guitara

Firstly, we’re starting with a song from Parokya Ni Edgar, one of the most prominent rock bands in the Philippines. In addition to their rock songs, they also have some acoustic songs abut courting a girl. The most popular ones are “Harana” (another fave) and this song “Guitara” (tagalog word for guitar). In this song, the guy is simply questioning why has to do so much to impress the girl. Instead, he’ll just wait for his chance and use this acoustic song to get to you. Coming from a country where courting and serenading is still a thing (or at least when I left), I really really love this song.

Anyway, here’s the English translation. Apologies if it doesn’t make sense or if it has mistakes but I hope you get the idea.

Why do I have to get changed?
It’s just a waste of form
There’s always someone interrupting
Whenever we’re together

Why do you need roses?
Well there are many of them offering you
I’ll just sit down and sing
Waiting for a chance
Letting them be
Stumbling and falling to suit you
I’ll just use this song to get to you
With the music of this guitar
Using this guitar to get to you

Getting tired of just looking
But there are many in the way
I’ll just sing and be heard
Everything that I feel
I’ll just forgive them
Stumbling and falling to suit you
I’ll just use this song to get to you
With the music of this guitar
Using this guitar to get to you

Just forgive them..
..stumbling and falling to suit you
I’ll just use this song to get to you
With the music of this guitar
Oooohhhh….
Using it to get to you… This guitar

2. Jolina Magdangal – Kapag Ako Ay Nagmahal

This song is here because it was sung by my favourite female singer/actress in the Philippines, Jolina Magdangal. This song was part of the soundtrack in the movie “Labs Kita Okey Ka Lang” where Jolina Magdangal and Marvin Agustin, my favourite celebrity love team, were the main characters. I was a huge huge fan back then and I’d watch all their movies and shows. After they stopped being partnered together, I resorted to Star World, HBO, and others instead.

This particular movie,”Labs Kita Okey Ka Lang,” was a typical love story of how Jolina and Marvin were best friends but Jolina secretly likes Marvin while Marvin started liking another girl, Jolina’s friend. In this song, Jolina Magdangal was singing about her selfless love of keeping her feelings to herself, letting Marvin go, and not asking him to love him back because that’s how she loves.

I’m sorry I can’t find an English Translation and I’m a bit lazy to translate it myself. But, the music video below also shows clips from the movie for you to imagine the scenario more. Wow, I was watching this movie when I was in Primary 1 or 2. How dramatic! Also, here’s another clearer and more recent performance of the song (with subtitle) because Jolina Magdangal and Marvin Agustin have apparently reunited for a tv series, Flordeliza. Haha! Now, I feel like having a Jolina/Marvin Movie Marathon.

3. Regine Velasquez – Tuwing Umuulan at Kapiling Ka

I can’t remember why I like this song. Actually, this song has been sung by so many artists (Eraserheads, Juris Fernandez, Noel Cabangon, etc) that I’m not even sure if Regine Velasquez was the original singer. Anyway, I just really like Regine Velasquez’s voice. After all, she has one of the best voices in the industry – even dubbed as “Asia’s Songbird.” The title of the song, “Tuwing Umuulan at Kapiling Ka” literally translates as “Every time it rains and I’m with you.” In this song, she’s simply requesting for the guy he loves to stay and embrace her while it still raining. At the same time, she likens her love to the rain, which can even be like a storm, which are both overflowing and never ending.

Here’s the English translation of the song albeit it doesn’t make perfect sense. Apologies for the possible errors as well.

“La la la…
Notice the rain as it slowly falls
Upon the flowers and plants
Notice the darkness as it consumes
The whole place whenever it rains

Your beauty overflows just like the rain
It sings with the wind, so beautiful
Is it okay if you don’t
Ever stray from me?
As long as the rain never stops

My world is swallowed by the torrent of rain
Just like how you captured me
My flaming heart won’t ever be stopped
My love is overflowing
My emotions are screaming in joy
Whenever it rains and I’m with you

Notice the rain as it slowly dies down
You’re also going to say “goodbye”
Is it okay if sometimes
I embrace and sway with you?
And, let the rain be our only witness

Rain, keep pouring
Don’t ever stop
You bring a storm
This is a prayer from my persuading heart
My love is overflowing
My emotions are screaming in joy
Whenever it rains and I’m with you

La la la…

Is it okay if sometimes
I embrace and sway with you?
The rain is the only witness”


Okay, those are my top three. And, unsurprisingly, I have other honourable mentions to share. If you’d like me to translate or explain any of these songs, please feel free to drop your request in the comment box below.

  1. Parokya Ni Edgar – Harana
  2. Ariel Rivera – Minsan Lang Kitang Iibigin
  3. Jimmy Bondoc – Let Me Be The One
  4. Kyla – If The Feeling Is Gone
  5. Noel Cabangon – Kahit Maputi Na Ang Buhok Ko
  6. Ray-an Fuentes & Tillie Moreno – Umagang Kay Ganda
  7. Jose Mari Chan – Christmas In Our Hearts

Okay, that’s all for today. I hope I didn’t overwhelm you. Please do head on over to Cumuloq for her favourite foreign language song. See you tomorrow for our “favourite sad song.” Cheers! 🙂

Leave a Reply

