30 DSC Day 21: Song You Want to Play at Your Funeral

Happy Saturday, everyone! It’s Day 21 of our 30 Day Song Challenge! How untimely that we’re going to talk about “song you want to play at your funeral” over a wonderful weekend. I’m actually at a camp right now as well. So, that’s two reasons why I’m going to keep this post short and leave you to enjoy the rest of your Saturday. If you want to read more, please go back to my “song you want to play at you wedding” post. That’s a lot more fun! Haha!

1. Josh Groban – You Raise Me Up

Josh Groban’s voice is very soothing and I’d like to have him there on such emotional times. For those who might question what has happened, I’d like to have this to remind them of where I am going. I think that death is the time when I can go back to God’s Kingdom and into the loving arms of Jest. So, please don’t worry, because I’ll be in a heavenly place then – literally.

“When I am down and, oh, my soul, so weary;
When troubles come and my heart burdened be;
Then I am still and wait here in the silence,
Until you come and sit awhile with me.

You raise me up, so I can stand on mountains;
You raise me up to walk on stormy seas;
I am strong when I am on your shoulders;
You raise me up to more than I can be.”

2. Collin Raye – Love, Me

I’ve always found this to be one of the sweetest song written ever. And, once I figure out that it’s about dying and promises to meet again in heaven, I kind of hoped to have that kind of love as well. This reminds me of the friend I mentioned in my “wedding of friends” post. According to him, he wants to be married to a Catholic girl (done) so that he can meet her in heaven. Isn’t that so sweet? I wish for me to meet my special someone (future husband) in heaven as well! I really don’t want to think about it. But, if I do pass on before my life partner does, I’d really like to dedicate this song to him please?

“If you get there before I do
Don’t give up on me
I’ll meet you when my chores are through
I don’t know how long I’ll be
But I’m not gonna let you down
Darling wait and see
And between now and then
Til I see you again
I’ll be loving you
Love, Me.”

3. Corrinne May – Same Side of the Moon

Corrine May’s songs have this impressive power to tug my heartstrings. Somehow, I knew she’d have a song which I can play at my funeral. I was initially listening to “Fly Away” but that doesn’t hit the exact message I want to leave my future children. And then, I remembered the song “Same Side of the Moon.” This is a rather special song because my ex-boyfriend from long ago dedicated this to me before we attempted a long distance relationship. But, that’s not the point. In this song, Corrine May tells her loved one that no time or space will keep them apart. And, I think that’s the message I’d want to leave my beloved family, children, and friends when I pass on. That no matter where I am, I’d like them to know that I’m still there, not far away, and they can still talk to me anytime they’d want to. That my love for them will transcend anything, whatever happens.

“I’m looking out the window
Where we sat to watch the stars
There’s a chill within the air
It makes my heart long for your touch
You may be miles away
But as I kneel to pray

I see the same side of the moon
That we’ll be looking on when the world turns blue
And know that time and space
Can’t come between me and you
We share the same side of the moon
And though you’ll never see all my tears shine through
I know I can’t be that far from you”
If we’re both looking on the same side of the moon.”


I hope these funeral songs would comfort my loved ones when the time comes. Otherwise, please play the “Somewhere Over The Rainbow” song as well. This ukulele version is good to keep the spirits up. I really don’t like it when everyone’s sad. Hugz! ❤

Oh. Before you go, please head on over to Cumuloq‘s blog as she shares the song/s she wants to play at her funeral.

Catch you again tomorrow! Cheerios! 🙂

Leave a Reply

