30 DSC Day 20: Song You Want to Play at Your Wedding

TGIF, everyone! I hope you had a great week. We’re on the last third of our 30 Day Song Challenge! I would like to start by thanking Cumuloq for doing this challenge with me. It has been fun re-listening to my old favourites and discovering new songs from her blog site.

Today’s prompt is über fun but challenging at the same time. We are meant to share “songs you want to play at your wedding.” Listening to the sweetest love songs makes me excited for when my special day finally comes. However, it was very difficult to narrow it down to what I’d share on this post. I can’t possible list down my entire wedding playlist here right?.. Or, can I? Haha! No worries. I’m going to keep it to my top 5 for today. But, if you have other suggestions, please do drop them into my comment box below.

Here it goes, then. Firstly, when I walk down the aisle in church, I’d love to have Celine Dion and Josh Groban singing “The Prayer” in the background. I think that loving each other is akin to praying and glorifying God. So, I think this prayer would be a perfect way to start journey with my future husband. I mean, just look at the first two verses:

“I pray You’ll be our eyes
And watch us where we go
And help us to be wise
In times when we don’t know

Let this be our prayer when we lose our way
Lead us to a place
Guide us with your grace
To a place where we’ll be safe”

And, to be sung by the two most powerful and beautiful voices in the world – Celine Dion and Josh Groban. I can just imagine the clouds parting to let the sun shine brightly and the angels to join our holy matrimony…

This is probably super cliché. I mean, it currently has 334,949,747 on YouTube! But, I don’t care. The moment my favourite male artists sang this song, I knew I want to play for my first dance with my new husband. Yes, I’m talking about Ed Sheeran’s “Thinking Out Loud.” If I’m not going to get married to Ed Sheeran, he better be part of my wedding day somehow, right? Haha! Jokes aside. The song’s lyrics are so sweet and lovely while the rhythm is perfect for a couple dance. A little rumba would be perfect! I’m even willing to put some of my dusty dancesport skills into learning the girl’s dance moves, especially for this part.

“So honey now
Take me into your loving arms
Kiss me under the light of a thousand stars
Place your head on my beating heart
I’m thinking out loud
That maybe we found love right where we are”

There’s other parts of the mass and the dinner. I’m not exactly sure which one goes where yet. However, here are three more songs I’d love to play on my wedding day.

Sara Bareilles’s “I Choose You was released when my current boyfriend (hopefully future husband) and I were in the “getting to know each other” stage. I like everything about this song – the singer, the hopeful lyrics, the fun and bubbly melody… And, every time I hear that song, I’d remember him. So, I took it as a sign. I’m going to say ‘yes’ to this lovely fella and we’d eventually have this during the proposal or the wedding. Since, I have no control on the former, it goes to the latter then. Silly, I know. But, I really like it. This song resonated with me more than Colbie Caillat’s “I Do” or MAGIC!’s “Rude” which are both strong contenders too. Anyway, here’s my favourite part:

“My whole heart
Will be yours forever
This is a beautiful start
To a lifelong love letter

Tell the world that we finally got it all right
I choose you
I will become yours and you will become mine
I choose you”

Another song I’d like to have is Michael Bublé’s “Everything.” I can’t think of what this would be perfect for — other than if my groom sings it to me! Haha! Oh, will the stars ever align for him to (1) think of this idea, (2) have the guts to sing it, and (3) pull it off well? Because, if he does, I’m sure I’d fall in love with him all over again. I’m imagining it now and I’m smiling and swooning to myself. Haha! Believe me, that’s a better choice than Michael Bublé’s “Save The Last Dance For Me” which I can imagine playing sometime through dinner as well. If my groom does this, I promise to sing the “la la la” part after he sings the much-loved chorus:

“And in this crazy life, and through these crazy times
It’s you, it’s you, you make me sing.
You’re every line, you’re every word, you’re everything”

As some of you may know, Smallville and Lifehouse have been a very monumental part of my life. In fact, as mentioned in my “favourite song from a tv show” post, Lifehouse’s “You and Me” is an age-old classic. Firstly, this is one of the best Clark-Lana moments ever! Secondly, it’s an alternative rock song by Jason Wade – fave genre from fave singer. The moment this song was released and played in Smallville in 2005, I wished to have that kind of moment too. This song always gives me that comforting imagery where everyone is far far away while I am in the arms of the love of my life – hugging, slow dancing, making me feel comforted, safe, and secure. I mean, at the end of the day, that’s what love and marriage is. It will be me and him, the dynamic duo, against everything in the world. So, yes, I’d love to dance to this song with my groom on my wedding please. Wouldn’t it be a perfect way to end the night with these words?…

“‘Cause it’s you and me and all of the people
with nothing to do, nothing to lose
And it’s you and me and all of the people
And I don’t know why I can’t keep my eyes off of you”

Aww. I’m in cloud 9 right now… Imagining my wedding day. Music is huge part of my life. And, I think the perfect playlist (with these songs) would make the whole event heavenly. I’m sure my future groom will know what to do. ❤ ❤ ❤

Now, let’s head on over to Cumuloq‘s blog for the songs she wants to play at her wedding.

See you again tomorrow! Cheers! 🙂

Leave a Reply

