Music: March Playlist

It’s crazy how I can still post a “YouTube Finds” post amidst my 30 Day Song Challenge. But well, I’ve chanced upon wonderful new songs recently while the challenge is mostly about old songs. So, let’s mix it up. Here are some gems I found on YouTube recently.

1. The Maine – English Girls

A new song from The Maine! Yay! I always liked The Maine’s tunes and John O’Callaghan’s voice. The lyrics isn’t very meaningful. But, the great news is that this song “English Girls” is a new single from their upcoming album. That means, more new songs will be coming up next. Yay! In fact, hearing this song was what inspired me to make this post so, it’s number one for this list. The one below is the acoustic version (my usual preference) while here’s the radio edit version.

He said,
“Smoke whatever you’ve got left,
It’s getting late and
We don’t have much to lose”
Well she said,
“English girls they just like sex”
I couldn’t believe when he said,
“I’ve got news for you
American boys do too.”

2. NEEDTOBREATHE feat. Gavin DeGraw – Brother

I’ve heard this song a few weeks back and it made me really excited to see my favourite band and artist performing a song together. It’s not exactly the best because it sounds more DeGraw than ToBreathe, but it’s good nonetheless. Plus, I imagine that it might be one of those songs which American soldiers may sing to each other when they’re deployed for war. So, respect for the patriotism and brotherhood right there!

“Brother let me be your shelter
Never leave you all alone
I can be the one you call when you’re low
Brother let me be your fortress
when the night winds are driving on
Be the one to light the way
Bring you home”

3. James Bay – FourFiveSeconds (Cover)

(originally by Rihanna And Kanye West And Paul McCartney)

Whenever I listen to original version of this song, I can’t decide whether it’s a respectable thing to see three very different artists perform together or if it’s ludicrous. I never reached a conclusion. But, when I heard this cover by James Bay, I’m so dumbfounded by how amazing his rendition turned out. His voice and guitar just fits the song much much better! Just listen to how he sang the bridge and Kanye’s part:

“And I know that you’re up tonight
Thinkin’ how could I be so selfish
But you called bout a thousand times wondering where I been
Now I know that your up tonight
Thinkin’ how could I be so reckless
But I just can’t apologize, I hope you can understand”

James Bay totally rocked it! I kinda want to give him a standing ovation and shout, “That’s how you do it, people! Show ’em, James!” As such, I conclude that his version is the best and I hope that by posting it here, I get to promote it a little bit more.

4.  Sawyer Fredericks & Noelle Bybee – Have You Ever Seen the Rain (Cover)

(Song originally by Creedence Clearwater Revival | Performance from The Voice 2015 Battle Rounds)

My friend sent me this song last night and I got pretty intrigued. I started looking for the original versions from Creedence Clearwater Revival and Rod Stewart to hear the difference. And it’s really impressive how their duet made the emotions behind the song so different. I really liked the harmony and contrasting voice between Sawyer and Noelle. They remind me of The Civil Wars who has broken up, sadly. And since one of these contestant have been eliminated (spoiler alert in the video), I guess this is the one and only time we’ll ever hear them sing together. So, here it is.

5.  Alex G – Proof

Honestly, Alex G isn’t one my favourite YouTube artist. Even in this song, I think her voice is great – but not perfect. But, there’s something about it which makes this song sound so raw and sincere. Indeed, I’ve been coming back to this song a few times this week. I guess, somehow, I can relate to how she’s trying to find the courage and hope to move forward. I, myself, have been feeling down and “praying to God for a cure” lately. I know it’s a matter of time. But, sometimes, when I’m under a dark cloud, I hear this song and I feel relieved to realise that I’m still alive, that I still have the chance to try again.

“Staring me down in the mirror
How long will it take til these cracks disappear?
Feeling ashamed, forgetting my name
Where did I go?
Praying to God for a cure
It’s so dysfunctional here in the hurt
Lost and confused, feeling the wounds
Where do I go?

Every dim shade of gray in my scars
All of the mess I have left in the dark
Still the light shines through the cracks in my heart
It’s proof I’m alive”

Also, here are some other new(ish) songs for you to listen to:

Well, that’s all for today. I hope you liked them! Give a thumbs up! Also, if you have more suggestions, I’d greatly appreciate if you could drop some titles/links at my comment box. Nice songs always make my day! Thanks! 🙂

Leave a Reply

