30 DSC Day 18: Album You Found Accidentally and Love

Another day, another post for our 30 Day Song Challenge! Before I proceed, here’s a friendly reminder for you to drop by my fellow blogger and best friend’s site – Cumuloquoise. We have both been answering the daily prompts for the past seventeen days and counting… so, you’ll be sure to find some interesting songs on both our blogs!

Today, Cumuloq and I will be sharing about an “album we found accidentally and love.” I initially thought of sharing Mariah Carey’s song “Dreamlover.” Haha! You see, I found it in my auntie’s cassette tape collection when I was 8-9 years old. Then, I probably liked the bubble gum pop beats because I memorised the lyrics and listened to the song over and over again. Super hilarious! But, that was very very long time ago. In fact, I wouldn’t have remember the song if not for this prompt nor would I know that it had this music video. So nope, not that.

Instead, I’d like to share a song I accidentally found on YouTube via Zoella Sugg’s channel. Granted she’s famous and all, I don’t regularly watch all her videos thus often miss most of them. So, how fortunate was I to watch one video – her “Autumn Lookbook 2013″ – where I ended up liking her background song – Adam Barnes‘ “She Will Stay Beneath The Moon.”

After which, I searched “Adam Barnes” and ended up discovering his entire album “Blisters.” I was pleasingly shocked with the light-hearted, semi-alternative but rather cheery songs which consisted most of this album. If Zoella’s playlist are all like this, I wouldn’t be surprised why she’s so bubbly and optimistic. Adam Barnes’ songs are so mellow and upbeat! Well, at least better than most of the indie songs I listen to. I can totally imagine myself walking along the beach or relaxing under the evening sun while listening to this playlist. Indeed, this has become my go to songs every time I’m not sure what to listen to but in need of a pick-me-up. It seems like a feel-good song but better because it doesn’t try too hard. Somehow, the album’s melody can just naturally make me feel hopeful.

Here’s a sampler of Adam Barnes’ “Blister for you – an album that I accidentally found and fell in love with:

Pretty cool, huh? Imagine how happy I was to chance upon another video where Zoella uses another Adam Barnes song again in her video,  “Get Ready with Me | Beach Walk.” This time, she used my other favourite song – “Old Shoes” – from the same album! Great taste, Zoella! Because, I really liked its lyrics and it totally fit her video too.

“Its a tale of old shoes and soles of your feet
I’ve got blisters from running on beaches and streets

In the absense of sound will you sing back to me?
Or just whisper the thoughts, and tell me to dream?

Just don’t lie down
As soon as I sleep you’ll be leaving this town
And oh, don’t lie down
‘Cause I’m lost and I’m young, Got my mind in the clouds
And if I fall asleep You’ll be leaving this town”

I hope listening to these songs cheered you up as well. It certainly did for me!

Also, I’d like to take this time to thank you for following my journey through the 30 Day Song Challenge for the past 18 days. It has certainly been great to spend my time digging out songs I’ve liked or reflecting on my disposition behind each song. For example, I’m feeling hopeful and relaxed after listening to Adam Barnes for the past hour today. I hope you’ve been liking some of my song choices as well. There’s 12 more days to go and I hope you will keep coming back.

If so, I’ll catch you again tomorrow. It’s gonna be a tough one as I share about a group I wish had never split. In the meantime, please drop by Cumuloq‘s blog for her album choice of the day. I can’t even begin to imagine what her choice will be so I’m just as excited as you are.

Have an awesome rest of the week! 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

