30 DSC Day 17: First Song/Album You Ever Bought

Good Tuesday morning! I hope your week is going well. Otherwise, no worries. We can listen to some songs instead. Today, Cumuloq and I are sharing about the “first song/album we ever bought.”

After sharing about the “theme song of my childhood“, this brings me down memory lane again as I remember what I used to do as a young child. Just to share a bit of background, back in the Philippines, the academic year runs from June to March, leaving April and May as the summer holidays. During this time, my dad would ask us if we’d like to learn anything new and we can use this time todo so. Well, sometimes, we’d opt to visit the countryside and spend our summer playing instead. But, on other times, we learn how to play piano, speak mandarin, swim, etc over the summer vacation.

For this particular year, I was probably 11-12 years old, I told my dad I would like to go for voice lessons to learn how to sing. You see unlike the rest of the Philippines, I don’t seem to have a good singing voice nor the pitch perfect ears – a terrible dent on my ego. He was surprised but, as the deal, he allowed me to do so. However, don’t be too excited. I only took a few sessions which hardly changed anything. Hence, I still don’t have a good singing voice, just a blog post to write about.

I remember that for the first session, the instructor tested out my voice and stuff. And then, she told me to choose a song which she’ll use to teach me and I’ll eventually sing and record my own version. Back then, I have no idea about this kind of things so she just said, “Okay. I want you to get a copy of ‘Colors of the Wind’ by Vanessa Williams. It’s from the movie Pocahontas. And, bring one blank tape as well.” Yup, back then, we still used cassette tape but was slowly transitioning to CD’s. I remember because it was so tough to find that song in cassette tape! I dragged my cousin high and low, around various malls and music stores until we eventually found it. I think the song was together with the compilation mix, not the original soundtrack but it works. Until now, I probably still can’t sing it perfectly but I definitely remember all the lyrics of the song.

Here’s the music video of Vanessa William’s “Colors of the Wind” from the movie Pocahontas for your viewing/listening pleasure. Don’t worry. It has Vanessa William’s voice, not mine.

Honestly, listening to this song makes me fall in love with the lyrics again,

“You think the only people who are people
Are the people who look and think like you
But if you walk the footsteps of a stranger
You’ll learn things you never knew, you never knew

Have you ever heard the wolf cry to the blue corn moon?
Or asked the grinning bobcat why he grinned?
Can you sing with all the voices of the mountains?
Can you paint with all the colors of the wind?”

I mean, it’s relevant even until now with all the illegal deforestation and animal enclosures. What makes us think we should always allow urbanisation in view of “development.” Plus, the imagery of painting with the colours of the wind? Don’t you just wish you could do that too? It’s truly mesmerising!

Anyway, to spare me from this embarrassing story, please drop a comment on your first song/album bought. Also, please visit Cumuloq for her choice today. Then, I”ll catch you tomorrow for the “album I found accidentally and love.”

Cheers! 🙂

Leave a Reply

