30 DSC Day 14: Favourite Song From a Film

Hi, everyone! Sorry for the late post. I was out the whole of yesterday – more and more weddings (I think I know 3 people who got married yesterday). Anyway, Cumuloq and I are sharing about our “favourite song from a film” today. For some reason, I’m hitting a mental block for this. I, initially wanted to share Asher Brook’s Try from “Fame” or Audrey Hepburn’s Moon River from “Breakfast at Tiffany’s” but the moments I liked them felt so far away.

So, instead, I’d like to share Lost Stars by Adam Levine from “Begin Again.” The movie isn’t exceptionally good but I really liked this song. In fact, the only reason I watched the movie was because of this. Plus, I like that Adam Levine sang a toned-down and heartfelt song. It’s pleasing to see his heart on his sleeve, for a change. Plus, granted that there are tons of covers available on YouTube, I’m glad Adam chose to have an acoustic version for the movie. And, I think this lyric music video is an awesome trailer to promote the movie as well. If you haven’t caught the “Begin Again” movie, have a sneak peek!


In addition, I really like the lyrics behind “Lost Stars”:

“And God, tell us the reason youth is wasted on the young
It’s hunting season and the lambs are on the run
Searching for meaning
But are we all lost stars trying to light up the dark?”

I can totally feel the regret and sense of loss behind it. When he says “young,” I think he’s pertaining to those who are still inexperienced. And like him I also question why all the vibrancy and opportunities are given to the young who have no clue of what they want to do. Can we, “experienced adults”, go back in time instead to relive our lives and reprioritise our options? Because, this rat race or “hunting season,” is getting tiring. And those who had “the potential to be great” are losing their ability to be the bright glistening star. Instead, we are lost and are searching our purpose in this world. Well, at least, that’s what I think.

Also, please visit my previous post where I shared about movies with the best soundtrack from the 30 Day Movie Challenge. You might find more jewels in that too. Plus, please drop by Cumuloq for her choice of the day. Then, I’ll catch you again for the next post!

Leave a Reply

