30 DSC Day 13: Favourite Song From a TV Show

TGIF, everyone! Again, we are back to our 30 Day Song Challenge. I have been doing this with my best friend, Cumuloq, wherein we share a song answering the daily prompt, every day for 30 days. And today, for Day 13, we are sharing about our favourite song from a TV show.

Honestly, I watch tons of TV shows and on top of that, I discover some artists/songs from TV shows as well. I think some of the best songs come from The Vampire Diaries, Pretty Little Liars, Hart of Dixie, and One Tree Hill. I sometimes even play their OST since I like the whole genre anyway. Haha!

Today’s song will be coming from one of my all time favourite TV show, One Tree Hill. I can’t even begin to explain to you how much this series has shaped my life. As shared before on my teenage idol post, Peyton Sawyer is one of them. I used to think that One Tree Hill’s closing scene with a tear-jerking emo-nemo song and Lucas Scott sharing a profound quote or monologue was a personal message to me. Haha!

In addition, on my YouTube account, I have a playlist of songs played by Haley James Scott (Bethany Joy Lenz) in the show. I think her voice is perfect. I, secretly liked everything about her – being tutor girl turn musician turn mother. It’s amazing! And she has always been kind, caring, humble, principled and responsible. I kind of hoped that I’ll be the perfect mix between Peyton and Haley.

Anyway, for today, I initially wanted to share the first song Haley played for Nathan with the cafe’s piano – “Elsewhere.” I really liked that song because it was the first time Haley sang it was prior to her music career and complicated drama. And I must say, her voice is just truly impressive. I’m not surprised the producers felt obliged to feature Bethany’s musical talent as one of the key points in the show.

However, when I chanced upon “Let Me Fall” and its music video, I can’t explain all the emotions that came gushing back.And, I can totally relate to its lyrics from then until now.

“I become much too good at being invincible
I’m an expert at play at safe and keep it cool
But I swear this isn’t who I meant to be
I refuse to let my life roll all over me

Let me feel, I don’t care if I break down
Let me fall even if I hit the ground
And if I cry a little, die a little
At least I know I lived just a little”

I like that Nathan arranged all of this out of his love for Haley.This even involved him talking to that prick Kris Keller. I thought that’s one of the best ways to show how you love someone – putting him or her first.

In addition, this brings me back to those days when I feel like everyone thinks I’m really great and I can do no wrong but I knew I was breaking down inside. At that time, I’d either feel too little or too much emotion and I didn’t know how to explain it. And, I’d play this song over and over again just to make me feel that somebody out there understands me that it will all be okay…

So here it is, my all time favourite song from a TV Show – “Let Me Fall” by Bethany Joy Lenz.

Also, because I can’t help myself, here’s other songs I love from TV shows:

Okay. That’s all for today! Do drop me a comment of your favourite tv songs. I’d love to discover new ones. In fact, let’s all head on over to Cumuloq‘s page to see what’s her favourite song from a tv show.

Catch you tomorrow! 🙂

Leave a Reply

