30 DSC Day 12: Favourite Song from an Advert

Woohoo! It’s day 12 of my 30 Day Song Challenge with Cumuloq and we are still standing strong. If you haven’t visited her site, please do so now.

After sharing about our fave video game songs, today, we are sharing about our “favourite song from an advert.” It’s definitely a lot more exciting for me. So, without further ado, here goes…

1. Jet – Are you Gonna Be My Girl | Apple – iPod + iTunes Ad (2008)

I shall start with the oldest one which still has a strong imprint in my mind. I liked how this Apple ad was simple and straightforward while still encompassing the whole idea of the product – colourful music player for all types of music lovers. And, I think Jet’s song totally complimented the colour changes, dance moves, and the “swag” that apple wanted it’s users to feel.

2. Train – Shake Up Christmas | Coca-Cola – Shake Up Christmas Ad (2010)

Coca Cola ads has always been impressive, especially the Christmas-themed ones. But I really liked this particular “Shake Up” one. There was this whole snowglobe thing and simple wish for everyone to be together during Christmas. I probably heard this song on one of those years when I couldn’t fly back home – hence touching a soft spot in me. And, most importantly, I liked that Train was singing it. I think the whole song was written specially for this ad and I liked how everything seems to fit. Plus, it’s a Christmas song, what more can I say?

3. Lenka – Everything At Once | Microsoft – Windows 8 Ad (2012)

I had no idea who Lenka was when I first saw this ad. In fact, I thought, wow! That’s a cool song and music video. Little did I know it was actually a Windows 8 advertisement. I’m sorry I don’t use Windows 8 but I must say, this song is so catchy I probably almost got one. I like that the lyrics was subtly trying to describe Windows 8 with a nice little bow ending for their tagline “Everything at Once.” Every time people talk about Windows 8, this song would secretly play in my head. I guess I shall congratulate, Lenka for choosing a brilliant advertising platform then! (not the other way around) Haha!

Okay. Sorry if any of this songs continuously plays in your head for the rest of the day now…

How about you? What’s your fave advert song? I wonder what Cumuloq chooses as well. So, let’s head on over to her side and I’ll catch you again tomorrow for our favourite song from a tv show.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

