30 DSC Day 10: Guilty Pleasure Song

So for today’s 30 Day Song Challenge, Cumuloq and I will be sharing about our guilty pleasure song. Oh gosh this is so gonna be embarrassing but here goes.

1. Spice Girls – Wannabe

Been listening to this song as a young girl and for some reason, I still like this song until now. I can sing the entire song (include second voices) and dance to it, IF you ask me to. If I go for a karaoke session, this will definitely be on the playlist. If I have a friend who recently met a new guy, I’ll quote Spice Girls about the importance of this guy meeting her friends. I mean, they said…

If you wanna be my lover, you gotta get with my friends
Make it last forever friendship never ends

Haha! Yup. Spice Girls has shaped a lot of my music taste and life principles. And, they probably will always do so.

2. Britney Spears – I’m A Slave 4 U

Firstly, I must say… I have no idea why I liked songs with strange slangs and abbreviations. I also don’t know why I still listened to Britney when she was starting to go downhill. And, ohmygosh, her midriff and bootleg days. I was obviously a very impressionable young  girl back then because I enjoyed her songs all the way until her breaking down stages. Indeed, this song, “I’m A Slave 4 U” has certainly left an imprint in my mind because I still sing it whenever I go for ktv as well. And when I say sing, I do it complete with feelings, second voices, and the whole “Get it get it, get it get it (Whoooaa) and Panting” part. I have no idea why I do that to myself but it certainly gives me great thrill to do so. Hence, here it is!

3. One Direction – One Thing

Okay. For some reason, I think the first two songs are fine since they were inculcated when I was younger. But, to admit that I still enjoy listening to some One Direction songs is the ultimate “nooooooo” of my life. I mean they’re so young and the songs they sing are so teeny-boppy and bubble gum sounding. Totally inappropriate and not me. I can totally imagine my guy friends judging me for this and saying, “BSB is the best boy band ever! 1D is crap!” Haha! Oh – the acronyms in the boy band world! But what can I do? One Direction songs are pretty catchy! And, it somehow brings me back to the good ol’ carefree puppy love years. Just check out their latest release from their upcoming album (yup, I’m updated. haha!) So, embarrassing as it is, I still like One Direction and most of their songs.


Haha! Okay. I shall say and embarrass myself no more. Instead, please do share what are your guilty pleasure songs instead? Also, do drop by Cumuloq for her (longer) list of guilty pleasure songs.

Then, we’ll catch you tomorrow for the start of series of “favourite songs.”

Tata! 🙂

Leave a Reply

