30 DSC Day 6: Favourite Female Artist

This is really funny. I was searching high and low for my favourite female artist – today’s 30 Day Song Challenge Question. Unsurprisingly, I’m not exceptionally fond of mainstream pop stars aside for maybe, Sara Bareilles, Ingrid Michaelson, and Anna Kendrick. They’re awesome but it doesn’t quite hit the spot. So, I come home, go to YouTube, and listen to my favourite songs at the moment. And then it hit me, there’s my favourite female artist – Gabrielle Aplin!

Technically, Gabrielle Aplin started as a YouTube artist, writing her own songs or covering others in this channel. But, I only discovered her after her first/second single “Please Don’t Say You Love Me” back in 2012 and then, I started listening to all her singles and collaborations with other people. This means, to me, Gabriella Aplin is a recording artist and the answer for my 30 DSC today! Haha!

Gabrielle Aplin is kinda like Birdy, Ellie Goulding, Nina Nesbitt and Lucy Rose (who I all adore) but somehow, I stick to Gabrielle and her songs more. She’s so irresistible and adorable! I like that she writes and sings folk-inspired songs about heartache, desires, and figuring things out. Armed with a piano and a guitar, she has a penchant for honest heartfelt songs which feels close to me heart. Plus, Gabrielle still updates her original (non-Vevo) YouTube page with songs filmed with a single-point amateur camera. I’m not sure why but I shall take that as humility on her part. Good job, young lady!

Anyway, without further ado, here’s some songs from my current favourite female artist – Gabrielle Aplin!

1. Gabrielle Aplin – Please Don’t Say You Love Me

2. Gabrielle Aplin – Panic Cord

3. Gabrielle Aplin – Home

Okidoki! That’s all for today. I hope you liked her songs. Do check out the rest of her songs too. Sadly, I have no news about any upcoming albums from her so I’m keeping my fingers crossed. Instead, you might chance upon her collaborating with other artists, going on tours, or being featured in shows. In fact, her song “Alive” was just in The Vampire Diaries’s S06E14 soundtrack. So yup, keep a look out!

In addition, please remember to visit Cumuloq for her favourite female artists. I’ll be away for a weekend getaway tomorrow onwards but no worries, I’m prepping my stuff for you. So, do drop by tomorrow for my favourite band.

So, TGIF! Have a brilliant beyond brilliant weekend, everyone! 🙂

Leave a Reply

