30 DSC Day 5: Favourite Male Artist

Today’s 30 Day Song Challenge isn’t much of a challenge because they are asking about my “favourite male artist.” For me, there’s no contest at all. My favourite male artist is ED SHEERAN! I just love his voice, his guitar skills, and his ginger hair. Haha! But seriously, he voice is amazing with or without guitar. And, listening to him pluck or strum the guitar feels like he’s touching my heartstrings too. So, prepare yourselves for a series of Ed Sheeran songs today as I feature my top 4 favourite Ed Sheeran songs.

Let’s start with the first song which caught my ears – The A Team.” You have no idea how many months I’ve played this song on loop when I’m working, feeling down, feeling alone, or just about to sleep. All the time, basically. His voice, his guitar strumming, his lyrics seems to allow me to weak and vulnerable and it’s so comforting to feel understood. Perfect!

“And they say / She’s in the Class A Team
Stuck in her daydream / Been this way since eighteen
But lately her face seems / Slowly sinking, wasting / Crumbling like pastries
And they scream / The worst things in life come free to us
Cause we’re just under the upper hand
And go mad for a couple grams
And she don’t want to go outside tonight
And in a pipe she flies to the Motherland
And sells love to another man
It’s too cold outside / For angels to fly /Angels to fly”

And imagine how exhilarated I was to hear that he wrote and sung a song for “The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug?” Oh my gosh! My favourite artist and book/song combined! It’s just epic! And he really captured the emotion and theme of Tolkien’s story. Henceforth, again, I listened to I See FIre on endless repeat. I mean, even just the first stanza already got me hooked!

“Oh, misty eye of the mountain below
Keep careful watch of my brothers’ souls
And should the sky be filled with fire and smoke
Keep watching over Durin’s son”

And, just when I thought he can’t get any better, he surprises me (and all of us) by singing the best wedding song ever – “Thinking Out Loud.” Plus, I love the dance move in this music video. I’m apologising in advance if this ends up in my “favourite mainstream song” or “song you want to play at your wedding” 30 DSC posts. I’ll try not to. But, seriously? If Ed Sheeran can ever serenade me with this song, I’ll just probably melt and die in my seat. It’s so sweet and heartwarming and I just hope I can be that kind of girl he sings about in that song.

“But, baby, now
Take me into your loving arms
Kiss me under the light of a thousand stars
Place your head on my beating heart
Thinking out loud
That maybe we found love right where we are”

Indeed, thanks for being so awesome and singing all these amazing songs, Ed Sheeran! You’re the best! ❤

Before, I proceed to my bed and listen to the rest of his songs on repeat, here’s a friendly reminder to check out Cumuloq‘s site for her favourite male artist. Then, we’ll catch you tomorrow for our favourite female artists — which I haven’t thought about yet. Whoops. See ya!

Leave a Reply

