30 DSC Day 1: The Last Song You Listened To

Good morning, everyone! As you have heard from our announcement posts, Cumuloq and I are embarking on a 30 Day Song Challenge for March. I’m super duper excited because this amusing challenge is coincidentally happening on my birthday month as well. This means, I have something to look forward to everyday. Yay!

For today, we are starting the 30 Day Song Challenge by sharing “the last song I listened to.” This topic is so apt because I was with Cumuloq when I heard this song and now I’m starting the challenge with her as well! Basically, we went to Fosters Restaurant at Holland Village for an advance dinner celebration of my birthday. Super sweet, right? Thanks, Cumuloq!

Anyway, it so happens that there’s a live performance in this restaurant too. Hence, a gentleman serenaded us (the restaurant crowd) with an acoustic rendition of some all-time-favourite classics. He was pretty decent with a voice and song list perfect for a relaxing Saturday evening. Actually, he played a number of songs but this one song struck me the most — and kept on playing in my head until I reached home. Unfortunately, I couldn’t share a voice/video recording of tonight’s performance. Instead, I looked for a commendable gentleman singing an acoustic cover of this song on Youtube. So, here goes… presenting Leon Cruz and the last song I listened to – Carpenter’s “Close To You.”


Firstly, I love the song lyrics:

“Why do birds suddenly appear
Every time you are near?
Just like me, they long to be close to you

Why do stars fall down from the sky
Every time you walk by?
Just like me, they long to be close to you

On the day that you were born the angels got together
And decided to create a dream come true
So they sprinkled moon dust in your hair
Of gold and starlight in your eyes of blue”

It’s so light-hearted and full of imagery. I like that it has birds, stars, moon dust and starlight. Plus, it’s so timely to hear about how “the angels got together and decided to create a dream come true” on the listener’s birthday – me! In an fantastical way, that was a nice reminder of how each of us were created too.

Plus, I’m delighted to discover Leon Cruz on Youtube. He’s pretty neat, isn’t he? I thought his cover was clear, soulful, and not over-the-top. Others jazzed it up with their own style or were sung by female. However, I liked the song just the way it is, and sung by a guy – hence, the chosen cover. I think the live performance at the restaurant and this Youtube cover is a perfect way to end my night. So, please do have a listen too!

In addition, I’m just going to throw in Tommy Emmanuel’s cover too because you know, he’s Tommy Emmanuel.

Okidoki. That’s all for today. Please visit Cumuloq’s site HERE for the last song she listened to.
Also, If you’d like to join Cumuloq and I for the 30 Day Song Challenge, do drop us a message. Otherwise, please visit our site tomorrow for the “last song we purchased.”

Nightie nights, world! ❤

Leave a Reply

