The Brave Heiress

As inspired by The Daily Prompt – Next in Line: 

A second #RoyalBaby will soon be joining the Windsors in England. Given the choice, would you rather be heir to the throne, or the (probably) off-the-hook sibling?

I’d choose to be the heir to the throne. Definitely.

Being the eldest daughter with two younger sisters, this is such a natural choice for me. I like being the first one to experience things, the one the adults/children have to approach for advice, the one who carries the responsibilities, the one who looks after the rest. I have a bring-it-on attitude especially when the safety of my sister (and the kingdom) is concerned. Plus, being a second child seem to entail a lot of following and succumbing the authority. I think I’d be a lot better leading, setting the mould, and being the “authority.” Haha! Indeed, I think I’d do real well as the future queen. Lucky for me, I am already the “heir to the throne…” Otherwise, I might just create my own kingdom. 😀

And, with that, let me share my top three favourite quotes from the 2012 movie Brave. I think Merida is one of the coolest heir to the throne ever. And, it just seems appropriate for this topic. Heh! 🙂

“Some say our destiny is tied to the land, as much a part of us as we are of it. Others say fate is woven together like a cloth, so that one’s destiny intertwines with many others. It’s the one thing we search for, or fight to change. Some never find it. But there are some who are led.”

“Some say fate is beyond our command, but I know better. Our destiny is within us. You just have to be brave enough to see it.”

“There comes a day when I don’t have to be a princess. No rules, no expectations. A day where anything can happen. A day where I can change my fate.”

Leave a Reply

