Serendipity Cafe

Today’s Prompt from The Daily Post: Greetings, Stranger

You’re sitting at a café when a stranger approaches you. This person asks what your name is, and, for some reason, you reply. The stranger nods, “I’ve been looking for you.” What happens next?

 

Girl: I like this book shop cafe. The smell of pre-loved books and hand-crafted coffee fills the air. No one really comes here. It’s like my secret hide out. Whenever I come here, it’s as though I’m jumping into my personal rabbit hole – the books are my wonderland, the characters are my friends. Every page brings a roller coaster adventure, a rainbow of possibilities. One time, I had a silly thought – that I’d meet the man of my dream in this cafe, holding my favourite book. So, I left a note inside…

Guy: I’ve been looking for an early edition of “To Kill A Mockingbird.” No one understands why. For me, since it’s a classic, I prefer its older slightly-tattered editions than nicely covered paperback ones. Fortunately, I stumbled upon this book shop. There’s this odd girl at the corner of the room. The side of her lips arch into a discrete smile – like she’s keeping a secret between the book and herself. Pretty odd – pretty and odd. I continued down the aisles – and finally found what the perfect book I am looking for. Yay!

Girl: In my note, this is what I wrote…

Guy: One day, along the margins of page 148,
I found these cursive strokes…  

“Dear Fellow Book Reader,
You have a great taste in books. I can tell because you chose the best book of all times! This is my favourite part – which one is yours? I hope we can get together some time to discuss our thoughts. Same cafe, another day.
Best wishes, Sarah.”

Guy: Wow! I have to find this girl!

—-

Girl: Sigh.. It’s been a while since I’ve been to that bookshop cafe. I miss sipping coffee and devouring books but I’ve been so busy lately.

Guy: It’s been 2 years of visiting this cafe but I still can’t find “Sarah.” This is silly. Ridiculous even! Sarah might be an old lady or a tourist from the other part of the world. I might never meet her ever. This shall be my one last attempt…

Girl: Okay. I owe myself a break. I shall go to my favourite cafe this afternoon. This shall be a treat for myself. 

Guy: Hey! I remember that girl… She was reading “Tom Sawyer” a few years back. Heck! I should just walk over and make friends. It beats chasing after an imaginary ghost. 

Girl: That’s a cute fella… He looks like he’s waiting for someone… Wait. He looks like it’s walking over here. Why?…

Guy: Hi, I’m Adrian. What your name? 

Girl: Erm, I’m Sarah. Do I know you?

Guy: Oh my gosh! Breathe. Don’t stumble. It’s her! It’s really her! Keep your cool… (Hi Sarah.I’ve been looking for you all these while. You might not know but we planned to meet her years ago. Can I join you? ) I held up my copy of “To Kill A Mockingbird” and she smiled the brightest most beautiful smile of all.

One thought on “Serendipity Cafe

Leave a Reply

