30 DMC Day 30: Your Favourite Movie

Wow! I finally found the time to write this post. It has been a crazy busy week (you’ll see this on my gratitude list for the week). And, I’m really really sorry for the delay…

For the last day, I’ll be sharing about my favourite movie of all time. With this post, Cumuloq and I have finally completed the 30 Day Movie Challenge. Please do remember to drop by her site here!

It’s my pleasure to share that my favourite movie of all time is “The Dark Knight”. I like superhero movies so it’s no surprise that I like Batman movies. But, I honestly truthfully think this particular one is especially awesome and ingenious. I mean, it’s so unique, deep, and bad ass!

Firstly, think of the plot line. Set within a year after the events of Batman Begins, Batman, Lieutenant James Gordon, and new district attorney Harvey Dent successfully round up the criminals that plague Gotham City. However, a mysterious and sadistic criminal mastermind known as the Joker appears in Gotham, creating a new wave of chaos which was so dark and uniquely exciting. Moreover, Batman’s struggle against the Joker becomes deeply personal hence forcing him to confront everything he believes.

Moreover, “The Dark Knight” has vastly improved fight sequences, more brutal and bone crushing combat, and much sleeker technology. Thanks to the Wayne Enterprises, the tech toys were just something to salivate for. And the “crimes and destructions” weren’t there just for the sake of. Everything in the movie was well-placed to create a brilliant masterpiece.

Then, think of the characters. Everyone had a depth and dimension to their personality. Batman wasn’t just a man fighting for a cause; he is also dealing with his disturbed childhood and disillusioned public image. Harvey Dent wasn’t just a another district attorney, he was passionate for the city. Joker wasn’t a typical all-brawn-but-no-brain villain, he was so psychological demented that he emotionally broke Batman and the morale of the whole city. I mean destroying the world with social experiments? Really?

In addition, I must say that the casting for this movie was brilliant. Christian Bale as Bruce Wayne/Batman, Michael Caine as Alfred Pennyworth, Gary Oldman as James Gordon, Morgan Freeman as Lucius Fox, Aaron Eckhart as Harvey Dent were perfect team. Plus, I thought Maggie Gyllenhaal as Rachel Dawes gave a much better performance than Katie Holmes. Somehow, Gyllenhall doesn’t portray that “damsel-in-distress” stereotype which are so common (and annoying) in superhero films.

Plus, being one of Heath Ledger’s last movies, this is a very monumental and memorable one for all his fans (including me). He played superbly well as the Joker and was undeniably the real star of the show. He was even more scary, sadistic, psychotic, and psychologically disturbing than the previous icon Jack Nicholson.

“Do you want to know why I use a knife? Guns are too quick. You can’t savor all the… little emotions. You see, in their last moments, people show you who they really are. So in a way, I know your friends better than you ever did. Would you like to know which of them were cowards?”

Last but not the least, the ending totally wrecked my heart. I mean, the humility and honour for Batman to take on Two-Faced’s crimes to maintain Dent’s symbol of hope and faith and keep the city safe… Apparently, while Batman is the hero that Gotham deserves, Harvey Dent was the hero Gotham needed. My heart was wrenched and heart broken when the bat-signal was destroyed, a manhunt was issued for Batman and Gordon declares “He’s a silent Guardian. A watchful protector. A Dark Knight.” He truly is…

Honestly, whenever I watch this movie, I find a new layer or aspect that I admire. So, if you haven’t, I urge you to watch this. How about you? What’s your favourite movie of all time. Do drop me a message.

And, this concludes my 30 Day Movie Challenge. Catch you for the next one! 🙂

Leave a Reply

