30 DMC Day 29: Your Least Favourite Movie

I’d like to start by reminding you to visit Cumuloq‘s on our penultimate day for our 30 Day Movie Challenge. Albeit I was unsure about being able to complete this, I’m really pleased, surprised and proud that we are on our final lap.

However, I feel like today’s topic is quite a waste of my time. After sharing about a bunch of my favourites, why are we to talk about our least favourite movie a.k.a worst movie ever on the penultimate day of our 30 Day Movie Challenge? So anti-climatic!

But since this gives me a chance to rant, I shall make the most out of it. I actually hate 2 kinds of movies – parody movies (ie, Scary Movie, Epic Movie, Scream) and video-game-inspired movie (ie, The Priest, Resident Evil, Dead or Alive). But since it’s given that the former would suck and I try not to watch the latter, I’d try to choose movies from other genres which, least to say, still aren’t my cup of tea.

1. Music and Lyrics (2007)

This movie revolves around the relationship that between a washed up pop music idol Alex Fletcher (Hugh Grant) and an aspiring writer Sophie Fisher (Drew Barrymore) as they struggle to compose a song for a reigning pop diva Cora Corman (Haley Bennett). Firstly, I don’t see the chemistry between Alex and Sophie. It seemed forced and fake and downright unconvincing. These two combined in a movie full of cheesy lines and lyrics kinda makes me…gag. They totally didn’t pull it off. Also, not only can the plot afford more rhythm and a better beat, the characters can afford to have better voices too. I thought the song “Way Back Into Love” was so overplayed in the movie. It doesn’t help that the voices didn’t harmonise well and sounded more screechy and whiny then sweet and sappy. If you’re looking for a rom-com movie to watch, I advise you not to waste your time on this.

2. Suckerpunch (2011)

I’d like to start by apologising to Cumuloq for choosing this – she deems to to be an underrated movie. And, apparently I’m one of the critics who brings this down.

I just don’t understand the movie. I mean, Babydoll (Emily Browning) would start dancing but they’d never showed it… Instead, she’d be transported to a different dimension where she’d start fighting some weird creatures with her other pretty friends in her über short school uniform. When I say fighting, it’s a lot of pose like manga fighter here (visual effects) then pose like an anime girl there (visual effects) then boom! They win. And then, they’ll show her swaying and finishing her “dance” for which her audience will be enthralled while, I, on the other hand, go – What the fudge?! I actually watched this twice in an attempt to find the point of this movie but no more please. Sorry…

3. The Whole Twilight Saga

I actually read the novels which were bad but still bearable. However, I really don’t get why they had to produce a whole movie franchise for this. Firstly, the plot can be squeezed into just one movie. The plot was simple and straightforward – it would have been a much better movie if it was summarised together. The producers didn’t have to make 5 Earth-shattering instalments of this. Plus, the casting was so bad – Kristen Stewart, Robert Pattinson, and Taylor Lautner can’t act for nuts. The movie seemed like a parody of the book; The actors attempted to portray some emotions but they looked constipated instead. It’s a shame to humanity – seriously. Honestly, if aliens came to earth one day and this is the movie they discover and base the human life on, I’d kill myself and denounce being an Earthling.

Okay. That’s all for today. Catch Cumuloq and myself tmr for our final 30 DMC post regarding our fave movies. Cheerios! 🙂

2 thoughts on “30 DMC Day 29: Your Least Favourite Movie

  1. Hahaha had to giggle at the last one. Here’s my opinion on them… 1. Sorry but I could never badmouth a Drew movie even if it is far from top notch. 2. Never seen it :). 3. OMG what were those movies?! I get why they took out so much stuff, because let’s face it breaking your gf’s car so she can’t go visit friends you don’t like and giving your sister a porsche to keep your gf locked in your house while you go away for the weekend so she (again) can’t see friends is not going to pay well on screen… really doesn’t make for a likeable character. In fact it pretty much equals an abusive necrophiliac relationship with an admitted murder and a serious case of stokholms 🙂 The best acting in those movies was the second one where she sat in the chair and stared out the window for like 6 months 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

