30 DMC: Day 26 – Your Favourite Movie Musical

This one has no contest. My favourite musical movie is Annie – the 1982 version with Aileen Quinn. Ok. I like the 1999 version with Alicia Morton too. I’ve watched this movie tons of times – and I still don’t mind re-watching the movie over and over again.

Annie is a young orphan living in the Hudson Street Orphanage under a cruel and alcoholic supervisor, Agatha Hannigan. Annie thinks that her parents simply left her there but they still haven’t come back after all the years. One day, Grace Farrell, billionaire Oliver Warbucks’s secretary, arrives saying that he wants an orphan to stay at his mansion for a week to help his image. Despite Hannigan’s objections, Grace picks Annie and rescues her dog Sandy. And, with this, the plot of the most beautiful musical ever ensues.

Firstly, I love Annie. She was a great friend, daughter, and person! She’s so bubbly optimistic mature and brilliant. She always looks on the bright side of life, sees the good in people, and believes that there’s a magical future waiting for her. Plus, she has the most adorable pet dog – Sandy! Oh. Another person I wished to be when I was a child (it was a close fight between her and Matilda! haha)

Secondly, I loved the songs on this movie. All of them are so cheery and catchy. They’re so optimistic and sunshine-y as though everything was going to be fine. Given how difficult their life was, Annie’s optimism was really admirable. She even managed to inspire Warbucks even though he had everything anyone can dream of. Truly, each song in this movie has wonderful lessons that all of us can learn from. Believe me – I learned a lot from them.

In addition, watching this movie brings me back to my childhood when my family will all come together to watch this feel-good movie. It gives me a very homey and nostalgic feeling. Now that I think about it. I’m very sure I can sing along to the movie if I re-watch the movie again actually. Haha! My personal favourites are “Maybe”, “It’s the Hard-Knock Life”, “You’re Never Fully Dressed Without A Smile” and “Tomorrow.”

When I’m stuck a day
That’s gray, And lonely,
I just stick out my chin
And Grin, And Say, Oh!

The sun’ll come out Tomorrow
So ya gotta hang on ‘Til tomorrow
Come what may Tomorrow! Tomorrow!
I love ya Tomorrow!
You’re always a day away!

And since the last song is a good reminder for all of us – here’s a video of it.

How about you? What’s your favourite musical? Please do drop by Cumuloquoise‘s page for her fave musical movie choice! Tata! 🙂

One thought on “30 DMC: Day 26 – Your Favourite Movie Musical

  1. I used to put on this movie and act out the whole thing when I was a little girl! I seriously loved it THAT MUCH!!! I haven’t seen it is years and now I think I need to rediscover it! GREAT TASTE!

    Like

Leave a Reply

