30 DMC: Day 23 – A Book or Television Show You Wish Would Be Made Into a Movie

Another tough challenge for me. Seems like tons of books are already being adapted into film and will be released soon. I considered the tons of tv shows I watch but honestly, I like tv shows because of the long term relationship I have with them. I feel like a movie might trivialise all those seasons I’ve spent with them into a 2 hour show.

But, well, for the sake of this challenge, I guess I can share some tv shows and highlight which aspect of it I’d love to see on big screen. Here goes…

1. Chuck

This tv series is about an “average computer-whiz-next-door” named Chuck Bartowski (Zachary Levi) who receives an encoded e-mail from an old college friend now working for the CIA. The message embeds the only remaining copy of a software program containing the United States’ greatest spy secrets into Chuck’s brain which turns him into “The Intersect.” Henceforth, Chuck now turns into a very important man who freaking carries the whole CIA server in his head. So, they send Sarah Walker (Yvonne Strahovski) to shadow him who then (secretly) ends up together with this adorable walking computer.

Sarah: Okay fine, I’ll answer one question about my past. You deserve that much.
Chuck: No thanks. I don’t need to know more, not about who you were. Cause as much as you don’t think so, I know who you are. A girl I’d like to share a cheeseburger with.

This show wouldn’t be a very action-packed movie. The tv version of it was was a very light-hearted humorous feel-good spy show wherein Chuck and Sarah were sent into different missions – Sarah as the agent and Chuck as the intel. They have a super cool and hilarious dynamic which makes being an intelligence asset seem like a possibility for us layman hoping to be one. Imagine Jackie Chan’s “The Tuxedo” released in 2002. I mean, isn’t it time to have shake up all the superhero movies releases? In addition, there’s a side story about love and friendship too. I really liked Morgan Grimes, John Casey, and Ellie Bartowski in this show. Heh!

2. American Horror Story (Murder House)

“Murder House” was the first season of a horror anthology series. Set in Los Angeles in 2011, this series follows the story of a family that moves into a home haunted by its former deceased occupants. I thought the plot and effects were really brilliant! The house itself was haunted so each family who stayed there for the past decades were all disturbed, demented, and haunted one way or another. Each year/family had their own story that would blow your mind and disturb you at night.

Indeed, the whole series was just beautifully insane! Hence, I’d love to watch this in the big screen with a more massive cinematography, effects and score to bring it to the next level. The current actors are perfect for their roles so casting wouldn’t be an issue. However, the series never explained why the house was haunted. Somehow, I like the mystery but at the same time, I’m curious to find out why. Hence, I can’t seem to decide whether it’d be good for the movie version to tie this up or leave it hanging still. I’d guess I’d let the producer decide – just as long as you produce this please…

3. Hart of Dixie

Starring Rachel Bilson as Dr. Zoe Hart, this tv series is about a New Yorker who, after her dreams of becoming a heart surgeon fall apart, accepts an offer to work as a general practitioner in Bluebell, Alabama. The theme involves some soul-searching and romance among the characters.

What I really like about this show was how the town, Bluebell, was beaming with culture and character. Set in a small Southern town, everyone seems so friendly, the town seems so colourful, and it was mandatory to close the episode with an indie folk band at the Rammer Jammer bar.

If this tv series was turned into a movie, I’d love to have all these things come to life. And, I’d like to plot to focus on Zoe Hart and Wade Kinsella’s love story. The characters still needs to be played by Rachel Bilson and Wilson Bethel, of course. They’re the most adorable couple (to be) ever! Oh gosh I how ship them so much! Zoe is this pretty outgoing ambitious city girl while Wade is hot humble small-town man contented with his life. They’ve tried to be together in the series but it didn’t work out but it’s still obvious that they love each other.  And although she’s been “out there” she is definitely learning a lot by having him around – either as a friend or more.

So, I’d love to see this love story push through in the movie version please? It’s been a while since a romantic movie has caused me to cry, hope, and swoon for love. It’s about time to have one through the “Hart of Dixie” movie please.Plus, the tv series has a pretty good soundtrack too so I’d surely love the score they’d use for the movie.

So yeaps. That’s my post for today. Please visit Cumuloq for her interesting suggestions on this topic! Cheerios! 🙂

Leave a Reply

