30 DMC: Day 13 – Your Favourite Actor

Following yesterday’s discussion, it’s now time to share about its male counterpart. So for today’s 30 Day Movie Challenge, I’d like to share why Leonardo DiCaprio is my favourite male actor.

Similar to Anne Hathaway, I also admire the roles and movies that Leonardo DiCaprio has been involved in. After his huge blockbuster hit ‘Romeo and Juliet’ and ‘Titanic,’ I think it’s very easy for him to uptake any offers to maintain his popularity. Instead, he was humble enough to wait for the next opportunity to portray a role he can be proud of and we can respect him for.

Did you know that, Leo was very drawn to play Jay Gatsby in ‘The Great Gatsby’? Apparently, he was very drawn to “the idea of a man who came from absolutely nothing, who created himself solely from his own imagination. Gatsby’s one of those iconic characters because he can be interpreted in so many ways: a hopeless romantic, a completely obsessed wacko or a dangerous gangster, clinging to wealth.”

To think about it, Leo’s movies are usually deep and mind-boggling. For some reason, I think he suits character with deep highly-intellectually but rather convoluted minds. I mean, just check out Leo’s astounding repertoire of movies.

Moreover, I think Leo is an undeniably very talented and gifted actor who gives justice to the roles he portrays. He really steps into the characters roles and brings us to the whole other dimension. My attention is all his – no blinking of the eye. In fact, I can’t imagine anyone else taking on his roles and delivering it with the same standard. Just imagine how ‘The Inception,’ ‘The Great Gatsby’ and ‘The Wolf of Wall Street’ would be like without Leo.

Another factor I have when choosing a favourite actor is how they handle the publicity level they have. I’m not exactly sure what kind of person Leonardo DiCaprio is. But, considering that he has spearheaded a few documentaries (ie, The Inconvenient Truth, The 11th Hour) and that he actively supports environment conservations, gay rights, and other charity organizations, that’s a huge plus point. I sincerely think that celebrities are in a very good position to be a (good) example to others. As such, I admire those who put their limelight into good news – salutes to Leo.

Given all these plus his classy good looks, charms, and crazy antics, what’s not to like about him? Ooooh. And, do know what he look for in a woman? Leo says, its “humility, a sense of humour and not a lot of drama.” *wink wink*

Hmmm… I’m sure there’s more reasons as to why I like him but that’s all my brain cells can share about Leo for now. If you’re keen, here’s a list of 50 interesting facts about Leo though.

Also, please drop by Cumuloq’s site for her fave movie actor. She’s really pleased and excited about this post so I’m keen to know her choice as well. In the meantime, we are off to watch the midnight sneak previews of “The Fault in Our Stars.” I’m super excited! So, catch you tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

