30 DMC: Day 10 – Favourite Underrated Movie

Let me apologise in advance if a movie I chose was actually overrated. I don’t really follow award ceremonies or movie reviews so I’m not exactly sure which is which. Instead, I’m basing my choices on how much buzz I heard about the movie and how good I thought it was.

Also, I’m gonna try not to release any spoilers. Hence, do you mind watching the trailers instead and reading what I thought about these movies instead? Thanks!

1. Waiting For Forever (2010)

I’m surprised why no one has watched such an original and real love story! In this film, Emma (Rachel Bilson) and Will (Tom Sturridge) were childhood best friends. However, what the trailer didn’t explicitly say was that Will is actually slightly retarded. Hence, he is still stuck in his childhood memories with Emma and is obsessively in love with her who, on the other hand, is now living a long difficult life. It was really heart-wrenching film to watch and observe Will’s unrequited love and stalker-like behaviour. What makes things even tougher was that he can’t quite comprehend why his actions are unacceptable and reciprocated. I kept wanting to reach into the monitor to comfort him but I can’t – not only cause it is fictional but also because I don’t know how to. I gotta give credits to Tom Sturridge for his superbly convincing performance in this film!

Here’s the final love letter from Will to Emma. There’s some nuggets of gold in there.

Dear Emma,

Those two words, ‘Dear Emma’ take me away to way another time when we use to write to each other after mom and dad died. I used to tell you about my new friends and my new life. And you used to tell me about the grand time my mom and dad were having in heaven. Truth is nothing. What you believe to be true is everything. And the main thing that I used to believe was that I would be with you forever. Forever. The reason it is taking me so long to write you is that I have seen that I have been a fool. I have spent my life fooling myself. Every letter I’ve ever written to you has been a love letter. How could they have been anything else? I can see now that all of them, except this one, were bad love letters. Bad love letters beg for love back. Good love letters ask for nothing. This, I’m pleased to announce, is my first good love letter to you. Because there is nothing more for you to do. You already done everything. I have enough of you in my head to last forever. So please don’t ever worry about me. I’m peachy! I really am. I have everything. If i had one wish, it would be that your life brings you a taste of happiness that you have brought to me. That you could feel what it’s like to love.

Your friend forever, Will

2. Stuck in Love (2012)

I’m surprised that this movie was kept on the down-low despite its powerhouse casting. I thought Lily Collins, Nat Wolff, Liana Liberato and Logan Lerman gave a commendable performance in this film which was a bit different from their usual roles. It’s far from a feel-good kind of movie though. In fact, it may even be set for introverts, depressed and even sexually frustrated viewers. After all, it’s about divorced parents and confused children in a family of writers. But, I liked how this was not the posh all-is-well setting but more of the we’re-trying-our-best-as-a-dysfunctional-family movie. Also, it gets brownie points for Stephen King’s cameo appearance. Heh! In addition, I liked Lily Collin’s character as Samantha Borgens in this film.

“I never enjoy anything. I’m always waiting for whatever’s next. I think everyone’s like that. Living life in fast forward. Never stopping to enjoy the moment. Too busy trying to rush through everything so we can get on with what we are really supposed to be doing with our lives. I get these flashes of brilliant clarity where for a second I stop and I think “Wait, this is it, this is my life. I better slow down and enjoy it because one day we’re all going to end up in the ground and that’ll be it, we’ll be gone.”  – Samantha Borgens

3. That Awkward Moment (2014)

I’m surprised that this film only got 22% on Rotten Tomatoes and 6.2 on IMDB. For me, watching this movie is akin to watching a chick flick, only in the guys’ perspective which was kinda refreshing. I enjoyed the movie because it didn’t have as much drama as the female version. Plus, it offered hilarious jokes, puns and innuendos and an insightful sneak on men’s perspective about relationship. They were still douche-y at times but “the awkward moment” apparently turned things around. And I actually thought the relationships they eventually had were really cool. Double brownie points for having three men (Zac Efron, Miles Teller, Michael B. Jordan) with different types charisma – looks, humour and sensitivity. You can go figure who’s got what.

And, of course, I can’t resist giving you my favourite movie dialogue between Jason (Zac Efron) and Ellie (Imogen Poots):

Preppy Guy: I need a drink too. I’ll get you a drink too.
Ellie: Honestly what if I enjoy the drink. What happens then?
Preppy Guy: I’d love to hear what you think happens then.
Ellie: I’ll tell you what happens then we go play beer pong with your two roommates until I end up back at yours in Murray hill.
Preppy Guy: Yeah, that’s right how’d you know that.
Ellie: Yeah then I have to listen to your roommate have sex with Hilary, or Emily or whatever the girl’s name is, until we fall asleep. And then a year later we’re still playing beer pong in the same bars with your friends except now you feel pressured to get married and have kids because you think that’s what I want.
Jason: Then in the summers you drive up to the Hampton to meet his parents wondering the whole ride if they’re going to think your pretty enough.
Ellie: Smart.
Jason: Wondering the whole ride if they’re going to think you’re smart enough.
Ellie: Because no one is and then we have to drink shitty chardonnay.
Jason: At a shitty garden party.
Ellie: And have shitty conversations.
Jason: About shitty people.
Ellie: With his shitty mother.
Jason: Who let’s face it doesn’t think you’re smart enough.
Ellie: Pretty.
Jason: Let’s face it, doesn’t think you’re pretty enough.
Ellie: Because no one is.
Jason: No one ever will be.
Preppy Guy: What’s all that shit, I’m just talking about a drink.
Jason: Yeah, but it wasn’t just a drink though, was it.
Ellie: It was a marriage proposal.
Preppy Guy: Woah marriage, nah. It was a vodka soda. Alright fuck you guys then.
[preppy guy walks away]
Jason: Drink?
Ellie: Yep.

I dunno. Maybe it’s just me or the mood I was in when I watched these films…

Well, if these aren’t quite your cup of tea, please head over to Cumuloq‘s page for what her favourite underrated movie(s) are. We’ll see you tomorrow for what we think is the most overrated movie ever.

One thought on “30 DMC: Day 10 – Favourite Underrated Movie

  1. I haven’t seen Waiting for Love, but I have seen Stuck in Love and That Awkward Moment – which I loved! I only saw Stuck in Love the other week and I was surprised I hadn’t heard of it because of who was in it, like you said and I really liked it. I love films with a dysfunctional family dynamic aha! I’m enjoying reading your 30 day movie challenge 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

