30 DMC: Day 08 – Favourite Male Character from Any Movie

Entertainment Bench

Entertainment Bench

I’m not really sure why but, today, I’ve decided to say that my favourite male character is John Constantine (Keannu Reaves) from the movie Constantine (2005). He is a chain-smoking cynical person with the ability to perceive the true visage of half-angels and half-demons on the human plane.

Basically, he is a demon hunter whose sole purpose on Earth is to send demons back to the nether regions. John himself has been to Hell as a young man who committed suicide and he knows he is doomed to go back there for his chain-smoking. But, he somehow hopes that his good deeds may somehow find him a place in Heaven.

As such, he goes to help Angela Dodson (Rachel Weisz) figure out why her twin sister Angela committed suicide. Through this, John realises that demons are trying to break through to the human world and his battles lead him into a direct conflict with Satan.

I’m not exactly sure why I love John Constantine’s character. I think this was one of Keannu Reaves’s best role portrayal ever. Firstly, he had a certain swag and charisma to himself. John totally made smoking sexy and sleek. Plus, I like how casual he talks to God. It’s just like The Big Guy is his friend.

John Constantine: [speaking to God] I know I’m not one of your favourites. I’m not even welcome in your house. But, I could use a little attention.

In addition, his struggle between good and evil left a strong mark in my impressionable age. On one hand, he was this smoking conceited obnoxious man. On the other, he’s trying his best to keep the balance of good and evil on Earth. What’s really admirable is how despite seeing all the evil in the world, he still believes in his divinity and omnipotence. Indeed, John’s probably know more about God than any of us and thus, has a certain gift of wisdom himself.

John Constantine: I guess there’s a plan for all of u. I had to die twice just to figure that out. Like the books says, he works his works in mysterious ways. Some people like it, some people don’t.

I think he’s a proof of how God’s strongest believers aren’t the ones in church but the ones who has witnessed the mysteries and ugliness the world. How cool, huh?

Guess what? I just realised that this was based on comics. And, that there’s an NBC tv series coming out based on the same story. I’m not sure how good it will be but it’s worth a sneak peak. Check out the trailer over here.

Okay. That’s all for today. Please do drop by Cumuloquoise‘s page for her favourite male movie character. Catch you tomorrow for our favourite female movie character! 🙂

Leave a Reply

