30 DMC: Day 07 – Favourite Documentary

Hello! Before I start, let me just remind you to check my best friend and fellow blogger Cumuloquoise‘s page as we continue to complete the 30 Day Movie Challenge together. We actually just spent the afternoon playing board games. And, she went, “is my scheduled post up yet?” while I’m only typing mine out now at 10pm. Whoops! Well, she has always been the very prepared one.

Anyway, both Cumuloquoise and I are not much of documentary girls. If any, we usually watch History or Discovery Channel at her place. I’ve watched a few but nothing “life changing”.

Oh. There is this (three-part) PBS documentary that I still refer to quite often. It’s the “Superheroes: A Never-Ending Battle.” It was hosted and narrated by Liev Schreiber from X-Men Origins: Wolverine. This documentary examines the evolution of superhero characters and the comic book industry and illustrates how these inexpensive diversions became the foundation for a multi-billion dollar industry.

Firstly, I enjoy watching (and following) superhero movies a lot but I’ve always regretted not following the comic book series more closely. As such, I was very pleased that “Superheroes: A Never-Ending Battle” stuck so closely to the comic books themselves rather than devoting more time to the films.

Unsurprisingly, so much thought was put into the costumes, colour, and even how the drawings fit (or don’t fit) into the comic boxes. But, more than that, I understood the reason behind everything – the powers each of them have, the timeline of creation, and the social influence they have. It helped me appreciate the uniqueness of each superhero character a lot more. Special mention goes to Captain America and Superwoman.

“Superheroes: A Never-Ending Battle” clearly explained how the new era of comic books started, the reason behind each character, and the context they developed from. We followed the explosion of comic book popularity through World War II, the politics behind the Comics Code Authority, the rise of their era via the cultures embracing of modern technology and science fiction, and the creation of Image Comics. I learnt tons of news things which, I think, is crucial when watching a documentary. So that’s a definite plus point!

It was comprehensive, comprehendible and very enlightening! I think comic book fans and anyone who’s generally interested in superheroes (especially, Marvels and DC Comics) would greatly appreciate this. Here’s a trailer for you to check out:

If you have other documentaries to share, please do. I’d always love to explore and learn new things. Cheers! 🙂

Leave a Reply

