30DBC: Day 27 – The Most Surprising Plot Twist Or Ending

Hello, Monday friends. For today’s 30 Day Book Challenge, Cumuloquoise and I are sharing about plot twist and endings which surprised us the most. We only have a few days left, so do drop by her site and check out the books she highly recommends for their most surprising plot twist and ending.

On my part, I’d like to start by telling you that I won’t be sharing about the famous plot twist from Orson Scott Card’s Ender’s Game, J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter Series, Chuck Palahniuk’s Fight Club or the like since a lot of people have probably read those already. If you haven’t, I’m telling you now, you have to!

Anyway, I’d like to share about the surprising plot twists in other less (but still are) popular books I’ve read. I think the following books are really awesome and I highly recommend for you to read them. On that note, because I feel very strongly about the following books, I’d like to apologise in advance if i slip a few tips on what happens in the book. I tried really hard not to give spoilers but I might just not be able to help myself.

 

  1. “The Art of Racing in the Rain” by Garth Stein 3153910

    Do you remember me telling you about Enzo in this post? He was this dog who sincerely thought he was will be reincarnated as a human in his next life. As such, we followed him as he observed humans and learn from them. Through this, he developed a very deep and close relationship with his master, Denny. Sadly, Enzo died… But, the real catcher is what happens after. Because, death is not the end of the story. Let me tell you I cried and cried and cried when I read the ending. And, never will I ever look at dogs the same way again.

  2. “Me Before You” by Jojo Moyes
    15507958

    I actually thought this was going to be a predictable book. Due to a motorcycle accident, adventurous Will Traynor lost his physical abilities and his will to live. As such, small town girl Louisa Clark was hired to be his companion. Yes, it is the perfect setting for a love story to blossom. No one’s going to deny that. But, there was a plot twist in the middle which apparently one character planned while the other wasn’t aware of. I thought it will be a cliché ending and that he would change his mind but no. Instead, he gave the most amazing thing for her. The ending was just heartbreaking which again kept me up all night.

  3. “Before I Go To Sleep” by S.J. Watson
    9736930

    This book is written in a diary format from the perspective of Christine Lucas. Due to an accident, Christine has a condition wherein she can remember everything that happens to her during the day itself but as soon as she goes into a deep sleep, her brain forgets everything and she wakes up as a stranger the next day. The story was such a thrill since I had a very limited perspective and only knew as much as she did. Every day, she was trying to piece who she was according to her diary entries and she was making some commendable progress too. Then, one day, a whole week was ripped off from her diary! Subsequently, what she found out the people around her just kept me awake, mind-blown, the whole night.

  4. “Sharp Objects” by Gillian Flynn
    7116594

    As I was sharing in yesterday’s post, Camille Preaker is a newspaper journalist who was trying to report on brutal murders of two young girls from her hometown. Since this was such a dark story filled with psychotic demented females, it was almost not shocking to think that the “serial killer” was not a man. I had a hunch of who it might be towards to second half of the story – just like Camille did. But, once Flynn uncovers who the real killer is and how the person killed the two girls, you’ll just be mind-blown as hell.

  5. “Doctor Sleep” by Stephen King
    16130549

    I know I said The Shining was my favourite book in this series on this post, but that doesn’t mean I don’t like its sequel. In fact, I love “Doctor Sleep!” It may seem predictable and a no-brainer for Danny to turn out to be an alcoholic like his father, Jack Torrance. But, the way King intertwined his struggle while helping a young girl Abra battle some supernatural threats was just brilliant. I honestly didn’t expect such development from the first book. Plus, once you figure out why the two have an affinity for each other and how they solved the problem, your heart will just be wrenched and torn into pieces.

Again, let me plead for you to read the aforementioned books. They are awesome beyond words! Plus, you really need to know what happened.

Also, after this post, I’ve decided to find out which books has the best plot twist and add those to my to-read list because these are the kind of books I’d like to read. Or, perhaps you can recommend me some please? Thanks! 🙂

Leave a Reply

