30DBC: Day 25 – A Character Who You Can Relate To The Most

It’s Day 25 of the 30 Day Book Challenge! We’re finally on the last lap! But before I continue sharing, I’d like to remind you to check out Cumuloquoise‘s page as I continue to brave this challenge with her.

Moving on to today’s topic, it’s my pleasure to share that the character I can relate to the most is Violet Baudelaire from Lemony Snicket’s “A Series of Unfortunate Events.”

In all honesty, I didn’t complete reading the whole series and I feel like I’m cheating by choosing her without fully knowing her. But I guess once you know, you know.

For those who aren’t familiar with Violet, let me introduce you to her. Violet Baudelaire is the eldest sister of avid-reader Klaus and baby biter Sunny who were left to be orphans when their parents died in a fire. Violet is the inventor in the team. One of her telltale signature is how she ties her black wavy hair in a ribbon when thinking and concentrating on new inventions. Together, they beat the odds against anything that comes their way.

Just like her, I think I am very close to my siblings and I have natural leader instincts. Albeit I don’t have the amazing inventor skills she has, I do enjoy coming with new ideas and strategies. It’s like, if it’s 3am and you’re caught in a trouble, call me. We’ll figure something out. I enjoy trying or finding out about new things and devouring as much information as I can from them. I know some of the things I know are not even important or useful but I try to make the most out of it even by sharing it with others via “fun facts!” Haha!

tumblr_mgolb3cWOj1qhzsfho3_500

That said, we’re both not pure angels nor goodie-two-shoes material. Despite our looking-on-the-bright side attitude, we both seem to have a taste for the wicked and the sinister – or, at least, we have the affinity to get caught up in it. She has committed a few crimes (i.e., burning down the Caligari Carnival and Hotel Denouement) and I’m not entirely pristine as well. Personally, I’ve always enjoyed psychological thrillers, ominous plot lines and intricate mystery crime. Plus, I find it cool that Violet’s least favourite song is “Row, Row, Row Your Boat” because she hates the line, “Life is but a dream.” Well, I guess we both live life to the fullest and enjoy being in it – no matter how convoluted it may seem.

My favourite quote from Violet Baudelaire is the following – when she reads the letter from her parents,

“Dearest children – since we’ve been abroad we have missed you all so much. Certain events have compelled us to extend our travels. One day, when you’re older, you will learn all about the people we have befriended and the dangers we have faced. At times the world can seem an unfriendly and sinister place, but believe us when we say that there is much more good in it than bad. All you have to do is look hard enough. And what might seem to be a series of unfortunate events may, in fact, be the first steps of a journey. We hope to have you back in our arms soon, darlings, but in case this letter arrives before our return, know that we love you. It fills us with pride to know that no matter what happens in this life, that you three will take care of each other, with kindness and bravery and selflessness, as you always have. And remember one thing, my darlings, and never forget it: that no matter where we are, know that as long as you have each other, you have your family. And you are home.”

This is what I like most about Violet and why I can relate to her the most. She is strong and resilient. Regardless of how difficult and challenging the problem is, she deals with it positively, fearlessly and courageously. She doesn’t complain or give up. On the contrary, she always has a confident “can do” attitude. She keeps on bouncing back from whatever comes her way. And, given my share of ups and downs, I feel like her too! Similarly, I try my best to help my loved ones to get out of dangerous situations with whatever things we have.

And, with that I wonder, how are the Baudelaire children doing now? How’s Violet? For someone who faced a lot of things at 14/15 years of age, has she finally had her fair share of series of unfortunate events? Is she still optimistically facing challenges with a smile, or is she all out of hope and strength to face more?

Plus, I chanced upon this WikiHow on How to Be Like Violet Baudelaire. And, I’d be lying if I don’t admit to already committing some of those.

How about you? Which literary character can you relate to the most? Do share! I’ll catch you tomorrow for the book that changed my opinion about something.

2 thoughts on “30DBC: Day 25 – A Character Who You Can Relate To The Most

Leave a Reply

