Reason to Believe – What I Believe In

Hi, friends. I’ve been feeling under the weather and exhausted recently. So, today’s The Daily Prompt is a very brilliant and timely reminder.

Reason to Believe
In Reason to Believe, Bruce Springsteen sings, “At the end of every hard-earned day / people find some reason to believe.” What’s your reason to believe?

I believe in a glass being half full, that every dark cloud has a silver lining, and that the end of every rainbow is a pot of gold. I believe that gravity will always keep us on our toes, that high pressure will turn carbon into diamond, and that the only certainty in life is death. I believe that beauty is not only skin deep and that everyone has something good in them.

I believe that the world is full of strangers and a short conversation can turn them into friends. I believe in giving people the benefit of the doubt. I believe that people can be kind and sincere without being oblivious and naïve. I believe in Mark Twain’s insight that, “kindness is a language which the deaf can hear and the blind can see.” I believe in loving and forgiving – and that people are capable of this even when it hurts at times.

I believe in hopes and dreams and making them come true. I believe in living life to the fullest and creating our own adventures. I believe that challenges, trials, and failures make us bigger, better, and braver. I believe that we have new lessons to learn, that there’s always room for improvement, and that we are stronger than what we think. I believe when Confucius said, if we “fall down seven times, [we can] stand up eight.” I believe because Annie says, “The sun’ll come out tomorrow/ Bet your bottom dollar that tomorrow / there’ll be sun.”

I believe in the power of hugs, kisses, chocolate ice cream and french fries. I believe how science can explain our lives, how religion can give us hope, that we can dance through our experiences, and how we can translate all these into a song. Yes, I believe in what saint, scientists, mathematicians, historians, poets, authors, painters, songwriters have left us. And, yes, I believe in my family and my friends and the love we have among us.

I believe in the Chaos Theory and how a small flap of a butterfly’s wings can cause a hurricane on the other side of the world. I believe when Mother Teresa said, “Not all of us can do great things. But we can do small things with great love.” I believe that I have a purpose in this world and that no matter how small my actions are, I can make a difference. I believe that the sum total of every single thing is much more majestic than what I can imagine.

I believe that my God is a living, loving, forgiving God with a witty humour and funny anecdotes to share. I believe in our two-way conversations via prayers and how we can proclaim His word through our actions. I believe that my God’s plans are bigger than mine. I believe heaven is as real as earth and that I will get there someday. Yes, someday…

Well, now I hope this post will remind me when I forget the reason why. Haha!

How about you? What do you believe in?
Here are the reasons why other people in the WordPress Community believe.
[Update:] I especially like this post from Kristen of Joyous Darling. Her reasons to believe totally nailed it! I’m surprised I didn’t write them myself. Plus, her blog site is quite cool – full of quotes, motivations, daily happenings, and dogs. Do check it out! Cheers! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Reason to Believe – What I Believe In

Leave a Reply

