Teen Age Idol – Kat, Peyton, and Summer

Another post as prompted by The Daily Post. Today’s topic is 

Teen Age Idol
Who did you idolize as a teenager? Did you go crazy for the Beatles? Ga-ga over Duran Duran? In love with Justin Bieber? Did you think Elvis was the livin’ end?

I wasn’t thinking of doing this post but it kept on haunting me as I was typing my 30DBC post for favourite female character. So, I gave it some thought…and, now, I’m unsure whether to be proud or embarrassed about my “teenage idols.” Well, I can’t remember of any specific celebrities but I do remember certain fictional (tv/movie) characters I sure followed faithfully. 

1. Peyton Sawyer from “One Tree Hill”

(as played by Hilary Burton)

I totally wanted to be like Peyton – which I’m guessing makes her my idol. She had this air of mystery about her – always reading books, drawing/sketching, listening to some indie music, driving in her retro ride. She might get too intense at times but I think that helped me relate to her more. I even remember copying her intro/outro voice overs for future quoting references. Haha!

 

2. Summer Roberts from “The O.C.”

(as played by Rachel Bilson)

Staying true to her name, I liked her cheerful disposition and positive attitude. She’s all “Come on! Let’s do it!” She was the voice of reason, pillar of strength, and motivator in the group. I think she brightened that whole show up and away from their very emotional plot. Plus, I enjoyed watching the love story between Summer and Seth Cohen. Tee hee! 

 

3. Kat Stratford from “10 Things I Hate About You” 

(as played by Julia Styles)

Gosh I loved her! While she was portrayed to be the meanest girl in school, I thought she was super awesome! I admired her strong personality, quick witty remarks, and heck-care attitude. I think she’s the first feminist who left an impression on me. Oh all the words of wisdom I learnt from her. And this infamous poem which probably  got me interested in poems moving forwards. Since google and subtitles weren’t predominant back then, I think I played and replayed this over a million times. 

“I hate the way you talk to me, and the way you cut your hair. I hate the way you drive my car. I hate it when you stare. I hate your big dumb combat boots, and the way you read my mind. I hate you so much it makes me sick; it even makes me rhyme. I hate it, I hate the way you’re always right. I hate it when you lie. I hate it when you make me laugh, even worse when you make me cry. I hate it when you’re not around, and the fact that you didn’t call. But mostly I hate the way I don’t hate you. Not even close, not even a little bit, not even at all.”

Wow. Looking back on all those impressionable years… I now wonder how much I turned to be like my “idols.” Hmmmm….

Well, that’s all for now. If you want to read who are the teen age idols of other WordPress bloggers, visit this page. I’ll catch you tomorrow for my 30DBC where I share about my favourite quote.

PS: I thought of putting Lizzie McGuire and Sabrina the Teenage Witch too – but that was probably preteens. Heh!

3 thoughts on “Teen Age Idol – Kat, Peyton, and Summer

Leave a Reply

