30DBC: Day 17 – Favorite Quote From Your Favorite Book

There’s nothing much of writing for Day 17 of our 30 Day Book Challenge. But, as you would observe by now, I collect quotable quotes and I can never choose just ONE.

Instead, here’s my top five quotes from Charlie Gordon:
(If you don’t know which book he’s from, accompany me until Day 30 to find out).

“I don’t know what’s worse: to not know what you are and be happy, or to become what you’ve always wanted to be, and feel alone.” 

“But I’ve learned that intelligence alone doesn’t mean a damned thing. Here in your university, intelligence, education, knowledge, have all become great idols. But I know now there’s one thing you’ve all overlooked: intelligent and education that hasn’t been tempered by human affection isn’t worth a damn…Intelligence is one of the greatest human gifts. But all too often a search for knowledge drives out the search for love…Intelligence without the ability to give and receive affection leads to mental and moral breakdown, to neurosis, and possibly even psychosis.”

“That’s the thing about human life–there is no control group, no way to ever know how any of us would have turned out if any variables had been changed.”

“Although we know the end of the maze holds death (and it is something I have not always known–not long ago the adolescent in me thought death could happen only to other people), I see now that the path I choose through that maze makes me what I am. I am not only a thing, but also a way of being–one of many ways–and knowing the paths I have followed and the ones left to take will help me understand what I am becoming.”

“You want these back, don’t you? You want me out of here so you can come back and take over where you left off. I don’t blame you. It’s your body and your brain-and your life, even though you weren’t able to make much use of it. I don’t have the right to take it away from you. Nobody does. Who’s to say that my light is better than your darkness? Who’s to say death is better than your darkness? Who am I to say?…” 

So, that’s all for now. Do drop by Cumuloquoise for her quote for the day.

I’ll catch you tomorrow for the book which thoroughly disappointed me.

One thought on “30DBC: Day 17 – Favorite Quote From Your Favorite Book

Leave a Reply

