30DBC: Day 14 – Favorite Book of Your Favorite Writer

Welcome to my 30 Day Book Challenge. In yesterday’s blog post, I wrote about Mitch Albom being (one of) my favourite writer. Today is a continuation of that, such that I shall now share about “my favorite book from my favorite writer.”

As mentioned yesterday, I’ve read all of Mitch Albom’s books but I narrowed by most liked ones to two: “Tuesdays with Morrie” and “Five People You Meet in Heaven”. I think they are both unique and interesting in their own ways. But, since I can only choose one, I’ve decided that my favourite book from Mitch Albom‘s collection is “Tuesdays with Morrie.”

In a nutshell, “Tuesdays with Morrie” is about Mitch Albom rediscovering and spending time with his college professor Morrie Shwartz in the last months of the old man’s life. Mitch visited Morrie every Tuesday to rekindle their relationship which turned out to be one final ‘class’ on how to live. 

It’s basically a self-help book in a narrative/fictional style. It’s something everyone should read at one point in their lives. But, I guess, the perfect target audience would be those looking for an inspiration – for something that can help him or her through the tough times in life. It might be a bit sappy at times but I guess that’s where the sincerity and sentiments are as well. I mean, how else would you feel if you are getting closer to someone who’s going to die soon anyway? I won’t deny that this book made tears flow down my cheeks. It is not all heavy and filled with seriousness though. Morrie had a great deal of humour which made me cry and laugh at some points too.

Indeed, I thought Morrie was such a loveable, brave and wise person. He was comfortable with his condition and was so in touch with his emotions. He led a simple life but he seemed really rich and satisfied with all his family and friends, his life experiences, and his attitude towards life (and death) in general. It’s like he found the secret in life! I’m really glad to have met him through Mitch’s words. Plus, I think that Mitch’s book is an adequate tribute for him; It’s the kind of thing Morrie would have wanted left behind in his stead.

In addition, I personally love this book because it reminds me of my paternal grandfather (a.k.a Kong Kong). I was very close to my grandpa. We (he) solved crossword puzzles, watch tv, and talk about current affairs or world history. On some nights, he’ll play the harmonica or accordion, teach me how to play music with spoons or matchboxes, and impart some life lessons to me. Plus, I vaguely recall watching this “Tuesdays with Morrie” movie with Kong Kong on the Hallmark Channel – hence, the sentimental value again.

Unfortunately, my beloved Kong Kong passed away (way) before his time and we didn’t get the wonderful opportunity Mitch and Morrie had. Every time I read this book, I’ll imagine having conversations with my Kong Kong too. This book helped shaped my perspective of what dying should mean. Morrie did say, “Death ends a life, not a relationship.” Somehow, it gives me peace because I can imagine Kong Kong thinking like Morrie too. My grandpa used to joke about dying early and how we’ll always have to pray for one another. Now, I imagine him being at peace and looking down on me from high above.

So, yes. My favourite book from Mitch Albom’s collection is “Tuesdays with Morrie.”

If you don’t mind, I’d like to take some time/space to share my favourite quotes from this book:

“Don’t cling to things, because everything is impermanent… But detachment doesn’t mean you don’t let the experience penetrate you. On the contrary, you let it penetrate you fully. That’s how you are able to leave it…You’re afraid of the pain, you’re afraid of the grief… But by throwing yourself into these emotions, by allowing yourself to dive in, all the way, over your head even, you experience them fully and completely.You know what pain is. You know what love is. “All right. I have experienced that emotion. I recognize that emotion. Now I need to detach from that emotion for a moment.” 

“So many people walk around with a meaningless life. They seem half-asleep, even when they’re busy doing things they think are important. This is because they’re chasing the wrong things. The way you get meaning into your life is to devote yourself to loving others, devote yourself to your community around you, and devote yourself to creating something that gives you purpose and meaning.” 

“Life is a series of pulls back and forth. You want to do one thing, but you are bound to do something else. Something hurts you, yet you know it shouldn’t. You take certain things for granted, even when you know you should never take anything for granted. “A tension of opposites, like a pull on a rubber band. And most of us live somewhere in the middle. “ Sounds like a wrestling match, I say. “A wrestling match.” He laughs. “Yes, you could describe life that way.” So which side wins, I ask? “Which side wins?” He smiles at me, the crinkled eyes, the crooked teeth. “Love wins. Love always wins.”

Kismetoffeebar

Kismetoffeebar

Funny that I’m writing this post on a Tuesday, Morrie would say, “we’re Tuesday people.” heh! ❤

Last but not the least, do check out Cumuloquoise’s post on which one of Jean Rhys’s books is her favourite. Catch you again tomorrow!

Leave a comment