30DBC: Day 12 – A Book You Used To Love But Don’t Anymore

Happy Ester, everyone! It’s Day 12 of the 30 Day Book Challenge! Today’s topic is “a book I used to love but don’t anymore” and my choice is Nicholas Spark’s “A Walk to Remember.” 

I’m sure everyone knows the story between Jamie Sullivan and Landon Carter so I shall keep the introduction. I read this book (and watched the movie) back when I was 13, I think? What an impressionable age! I didn’t read a lot of novels then. So, that was my first “adult-ish” book not to mention, my first/only Nicholas Sparks book. I didn’t know what to expect. So, like any first love, It really hit me hard.

Wow! It was the best sweetest most beautiful love story ever! I was gushing and crying while reading it. I was so in love with the story that I was secretly hoping that it would be my love story too. Jamie was this simple, sweet, down-to-earth, God-fearing  girl who she was an angel to everyone around her. While Carter was this jock who turned over a new leaf after discovering the beauty inside “the ugly duckling/frog.” Isn’t that the story every teenage girls was just dreaming of? This book just gave me all the hope for a gooey one true love.

Plus, I liked how faithful Jaime was, that even though everything has been taken from her, she was steadfast in her faith and was able to inspire Carter. I remember Jamie saying, “I don’t think that we’re meant to understand it all the time. I think that sometimes we just have to have faith.” In addition, their love story was so sweet innocent and pure – devoid and unadulterated by sexual references other books had. Imagine how conservative Jamie was and how Carter respected all that (after he stopped being a jerk). How often would you hear of stories like that?

Sadly, I’ve grown older. The plot sounds so cliché to me now. The story doesn’t seem as plausible or realistic anymore. And, there’s other books that challenge me more intellectually and emotionally. Plus, after reading “The Fault in Our Stars”…. albeit they’re not on the same league, it just doesn’t seem as unique anymore.

That said, “A Walk to Remember” will always hold a special place in my heart. And, I wouldn’t mind re-reading or re-watching Jamie and Carter’s love story over and over again. It will always be my go-to love story (much better than The Notebook, anyway). Sadly, in the word’s of Jimmy Bondoc’s song, “We just have to say our love was true / But has now become a lie / So I’m tellin’ you I love you one last time / And goodbye”

Alright. Time to read Cumuloquoise‘s post for today. Have a lovely week ahead, everyone! ❤

“I held her close to me with my eyes closed, wondering if anything in my life had ever been this perfect and knowing at the same time that it hadn’t. I was in love, and the feeling was even more wonderful than I ever imagined it could be.”

Leave a Reply

