30DBC Day 10 – Favorite Classic Book

Sorry for the delay. I’m rather busy this “holy/easter” weekend. Nonetheless, I’m here.. squeezing my time happily typing away for you…

Today’s 30 Day Book Challenge exciting topic is “Favourite Classic Book.” And, my choice is George Orwell’s “1984.” There is not doubt about it.

I actually read “1984” before I read “Animal Farm.” This is probably the first political/dystopian novel I’ve ever read – and I was really mind blown! Whew! I think I was 15 years old then. Having had grown up in the Philippines and stayed in Singapore for a few years, I was aware of the stark difference between the two socio-political cultures. And, George Orwell’s 1984 really put everything into perspective and mindf*cked me!

Winston Smith, the protagonist, works for the Ministry of Truth to rewrite past newspaper articles and ensure that the historical record always supports the current party line. Everything’s well except that he secretly hates the Party and dreams of rebellion against Big Brother. His moral dilemna and love story is just so poignant! I mean, the politics and psychology of this novel runs deep. The society in the book has no written laws, but many acts are punishable by death. The media is controlled, the state is the biggest terrorist, and the people are brainwashed. Plus, their keywords include Big Brother, doublethink, thoughtcrime, Newspeak, and memory hole? What’s not to like? It’s a masterpiece!

The themes and plot is so powerful and thought-provoking. Even though Orwell wrote this back in 1948, it is no more timelier and relevant than now. His fictional story was already so terrifying. And now, the technological advancement has made it even easier to monitor citizens and control our thoughts than before! It’s horrifying to imagine what totalitarian governments could do if they had a monopoly over internet control and technology. And, that makes it even more ingenious! George Orwell has managed to imagine and capture all these (and more) so elaborately and profoundly more than 60 years ago… How could he have created a future (which is so realistic) nearly half a century away from the period in which he was writing it?!

Imagine. The party’s famous slogans include:

BIG BROTHER IS WATCHING YOU

 and

WAR IS PEACE.
FREEDOM IS SLAVERY.
IGNORANCE IS STRENGTH.

What could be more insightful than these? And, there’s a number more quotes this book has to offer that will haunt you forever. Check them out on goodreads.

I must say that “1984” is a book not to be missed. If you like The Minority Report, V for Vendetta, Fahrenheit 451, Brave New World, and Animal Farm, you are sure to like this book as well. I had always been interested in political science and this book really opened my mind with so many more things. Indeed, I’m planning to re-read this and follow it with IQ84. Also, I just found out there’s a movie-adaptation for this (my to-watch list has the 1984 movie from youtube).

So, yes, it’s undeniable that my favourite classic is George Orwell’s 1984.

How about you? What’s your favourite classic?

Cumuloquoise‘s favourite classic book is The Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson. Do check out her post!

Have a lovely weekend! ❤

One thought on “30DBC Day 10 – Favorite Classic Book

  1. I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was great.
    I don’t know who you are but certainly you’re
    going to a famous blogger if you are not already 😉 Cheers!

    Like

Leave a Reply

