30DBC Day 5 – A Book That Makes You Happy

Good Sunday, everyone! It’s Day 5 of the 30 Day Book Challenge and today’s topic is, “A Book That Makes You Happy.” So, my pick of the day is Wendelin Van Draanen’s Flipped!

(Image Source: Orble)

flipped

The book “Flipped” makes me happy because it’s so simple, light and such a super great fun to read! In the beginning, Julianna Baker develops a huge crush on Bryce Loski who, in turn, always avoided her. Eventually, his character flaws became more obvious while Juli becomes more independent and confident of herself. But the things is, Bryce is now starting to like Juli who is not interested in him anymore.

Thinking of this storyline brings me back to my younger years and still makes my heart flutter. I read this book when I was…12? It’s one of those books I found on the shelf at home – not knowing what it was about nor where it came from. I just took it because of the cute chick cover and started flipping…

But when I saw the Draanen’s style, I was instantly hooked. I guess I was at the perfect age for their target audience. I still remember Juli saying, “My Bryce. Still walking around with my first kiss.” While Bryce goes, “It’s been six years of strategic avoidance and social discomfort.” Oh, I like those two kids! My favourite was Juli though (unsurprisingly). For me, she was a heroine who’s true to her self, independent, and smart. I always wanted to be like her!

Flipped

(Image Source: Mosaic Movie Connect Group)

Furthermore, I loved that the book was written in two perspectives – Bryce and Juli describing the same events in alternate chapters. The alternating narration style is super cool plus it created a realistic angle to this multilayered book.  Both Juli and Bryce are each learning to look beyond the surface of people, both figuring out who they are, who they want to be, and who they want to be with. But, what was even more surprising was how honest and genuine the characters were portrayed. It was fresh, funny and easily relatable.

I mean, it’s a poignant romantic comedy for teenagers – nothing flamboyant nor dramatic but it’s all real nonetheless. “Flipped” is the kind of story that makes you fall in love with the idea of love all over again. It’s the perfect “puppy love” story we always imagined when we were young that can still make us go gooey-eyed.

tumblr_m62cg5fRhx1r5tmlbo1_1280

(Image Source: That Quote From The Movie)

If you’re not a reader – watch the movie adaptation. Whatever! Both the movie and the book are brilliantly crafted and beautifully interpreted. It’s guaranteed to make you happy and feel good either way.

539w“A painting is more than the sum of its parts,’ he would tell me, and then go on to explain how the cow by itself is just a cow, and the meadow by itself is just grass and flowers, and the sun peeking through the trees is just a beam of light, but put them all together and you’ve got magic.”  – Flipped

(Image Source: Boston)

Ok. That’s all for today. Don’t forget to check out what book that makes Cumuloquoise happy! (:

Leave a Reply

