Music: New Song Discovery

Youtube finds for the week – to help you and I get through another roller coaster ride.

I’m so glad there’s new songs this week as opposed to just new covers. Plus, I found new artists to subscribe to as well! Yay!

1. Justin Timberlake – Not A Bad Thing

Everyone’s gotta start their list with dearly beloved Justin Timberlake, right? I like this song – it’s fun and light, kinda reminds me of JT’s nsync years. Plus, I found their Vevo documentary/ video clip asking #haveyouseenthiscouple. I think it’s pretty clever for someone as famous as JT to hinge on a social media engaging video to bring everyone together for the cause of love (and, of course, promote his new song). Here is JT’s live performance at The Tonight Show, btw.

“So don’t act like it’s a bad thing to fall in love with me / Cause you might fuck around and find your dreams come true with me / Spend all your time and your money just find out my love was free”

2. Dear River – Kina Grannis

Kina Grannis has a new song and it’s chirpy lively upbeat song about keeping up with the river. Yeah, loads of metaphor but catchy nonetheless. Reminds me of Audrey Hepburn’s “Moon River” only “Dear River” has a contemporary melody for the current generation. Extra points for having loads of her youtube friends join her video as well.

“I doubt anyone can keep up / Keep up, keep up / Keep up, keep up with you”

3. Tyler Ward – Beginning Of A Bad Idea

This is a refreshing change from Tyler Ward’s common happy cheerful collab videos. I think this song showcases his raw voice and brilliant guitar skills better. I think it’s the perfect mood and tempo for the broken heart trying to get over someone. Plus, with the good music video, he might get casted for some tv show/movie down the line. What do you think?

“So don’t pick up anymore / When I call you up / Cause it’s the beginning / Of a bad idea / A bad idea”

 

4. Gavin DeGraw – Make A Move

It’s been a while since I last heard Gavin DeGraw’s tunes so a new one is always welcomed, albeit it’s different from his usual alternative rock genre. This song is much more upbeat pop and the music video kinda reminds me of Maroon 5’s Payphone. But well, it goes with the “summer” season so do give it a listen too. Otherwise, you can hear a stripped version here (i like this better actually).

“I’m aware of what you’ve gone through / Not afraid to say I’ve fallen for you / If you need someone to talk to / I’ve got the time
I don’t care where we sleep tonight / I don’t care if it’s in or outside / You know what to do / Make a move”

5. Hudson Taylor & Gabrielle Aplin – Helplessly Hoping

Originally by Crosby, Stills & Nash

I heard this a few weeks back and I still couldn’t stop listening to it so I thought I should share. A super tight and crisp harmony. Hudsons and Gabrielle has a superbly beautiful blending voice. Listen and get lost in their voice…

“Wordlessly watching he waits by the window and wonders / At the empty place inside / Heartlessly helping himself to her bad dreams he worries / Did he hear a good-bye? / Or even hello?”

6. Nick Mulvey – Meet Me There

I haven’t heard about Nick Mulvey nor any of his songs before but, thanks to VEVODSCVR, I just did. I’m not sure of his discography and style just yet but I’m liking this song. If you want to find out more, here’s his website.

7. The Avett Brothers – Another Is Waiting

Heard this song playing in the background while watching “Hart of Dixie” S03E16 the other day. I was like, hey, “that’s nice. I’ve never heard that before.” So, a little tippity tappity on google and here it is.

“It’s a fake, it’s a con / The nature of the road you’re on / Let me see your skeleton / Well before your life is done”

8.  New Heights and Colton Haynes – 19 You + Me (Cover)

Originally by Dan + Shay

I think this songs fits more with my “Careful, Colourful Cheerful” Music post more. But, since I just discovered it, better late than never. I discovered the song when Dan + Shay performed on Ellen. But, I found this cover and their voice is much suitable, stronger, and swoon-worthy. Heh!

“I can still hear that sound / Of every wave crashin’ down / Like the tears we cried / That day we had to leave / It was everything we wanted it to be / The summer of / 19 you and me”

 

So, I hope you enjoyed this, friends! If you have any new songs/covers/artists, please do share them with me.

Have an awesome week ahead! ❤

Leave a Reply

