Birthday Month Treats

 

 

It’s my birthday month! Well, it’s ending but still.. “Woohoo!”

So, I discovered how much “Birthday Month Promotion” retailers give their members. I thought it would be fun to find out what they are and get some freebies along the way. So, I embarked on a mini crazy chase. Look at what I got!

 

1. Sephora

Their cute little gift is a Mini Make up Palette Bag containing 4 eye shadows, 2 lip glosses and 1 blush. And I just realised, I can also have a complimentary brow wax and shaping service. Cute! (:

But. While queuing, I saw that travel-size Soap and Glory Body Scrub for 8 bucks so I got it too. Fail.

sdfsdf

sephora

 

2. Starbucks

After a whole year of usage, I finally registered my Starbucks card to key in my birthday. In return, I got a couple of things free: a cuppa coffee (for registering) and a birthday cake. I tried the Hazelnut Macchiato and the Molten Lava Cake – which were amazing but were a bit too sweet for my tastebuds. I’m glad to have friends to share them with.

Oh. And, I realised that “Starbucks Reserve”at Sentosa has a sleek black tumblr with an “R” and star monogram on it. So, I decided to get one for myself – and that entitles me to a free drink too. Tee hee!

DFFDFD

3. kikki.K

Next, I got a $10 Birthday Gift Voucher from kikki.K. I thought, it won’t hurt to see their new collection. So, I went and….. 10 minutes later, I have a note paper pad with “uniquely illustrated designs.” This is an epitome of how vouchers encourage me to get things I don’t even need.

khj

IMG_0080

 

4. The Body Shop

I bought tons of other stuff from TBS this month. I’m actually too ashamed to take a photo of them now…

I got the Vitamin E Intense Moisture Cream, Absinthe Purifying Hand Cream, Tea Tree Pore Minimiser, Mineral Powder Blotting Tissues, and Rainforest Moisture Shampoo and Conditioner.

The last one was actually coz I got the Earth Hour pledge/membership card too. For the rest, my “Love Your Body Club” card entitles me for a birthday treat – which I can’t remember but obviously it was something I couldn’t resist. I think it was some voucher plus 20% off everything else. Hmm… I’m not sure. All I know is that, I spent enough to get a free TBS UV umbrella, have auto-membership renewal, and be upgraded to “Love Your Body Fan.” Scary…

 

IMG_0081

 

5. Pizza Hut

This isn’t exactly a birthday treat. (After collecting everything, I was starting to feel shy asking about birthday promo. haha).  It just so happens that if you complete an online survey after your visit, you get a Personal Pan Pizza (choice of hawaiian or vegetarian). So, what the heck, I completed an earlier survey and treated myself for acknowledging their good service.

20140325_201332

 

Oh, and there are other promotions that I didn’t manage to avail but you may want to check out and try:

  • 10% discount at Fish % Co.
  • 20% discount at Tony Roma’s
  • Free Ice Cream Dessert at Swensen’s
  • Free Ala Carte Buffet Lunch at Minori
  • Free admission to the Singapore Zoo, River Safari, and/or Night Safari

 Shin-Minori-FREE-Ala-carte-Lunch-Buffet-on-Your-Birthday-in-Year-2014 1798722_513742848746081_1960616907_n

 

WARNING: Regardless of how amazing they sound, these “birthday treats” are marketing gimmicks. They encourage you to get things you may not even need. I think, for 75% of the shops I went to, I got something else which wasn’t part of the free gift. So, even when I was merely collecting “free gifts,” at the end of the day, money still slipped out of my wallet. Sigh…

I’d like to thank Aly and Arv for spending time with me and accompanying me in my crazy birthday promo chase. Until next year! (:

Leave a Reply

