Book Shelf: Every Day

So, today, I finished reading David Levithan’s Every Day.

It was an easy book to pick up and a difficult book to put down – I finished it in 1.5 days. The plot starts as soon as you start reading. Following someone who changes the body he inhabits in everyday, I was very interested in who A will be next and how he was going to handle it.

When I was getting started, Cumuloquoise asked me if i’d rather be myself for the rest of my life or be someone who changes the whole being every 10 years. I chose the latter. I thought I’d be bored with myself and that I’d enjoy the adventure.

However, after following A’s life and reading about how difficult it was, I’m starting to doubt my answer. It seemed pretty cool to have a dynamic life – walking the paths of 5,840 people’s shoes. But, he does not have anything constant, something to anchor his life to. Aside from Rhiannon, A didn’t have a family to welcome him every night, a best friend to share stories with, or a linear past  to remember. He had to adjust himself every day, being careful not to deviate or disrupt his host’s life too much. It might be a fun daily adventure but I’d probably want to go back “home” after a while.

That said, I admire what A did in the end. Was he being selfless or selfish? I’m not sure. I don’t think he’s entirely sure of what he’s getting into either. But, doing that for Rhiannon was just really sweet and touching. (I’m trying not to give spoilers here…)

I’ve read a number of this “different personas” book, but I still found “Every Day” refreshing and interesting. The daily entries style was simple and engaging. The language was easy to follow – which makes it easier for readers to empathise with the protagonist. It’s easy to get into A’s thoughts, feel his emotions, and be part of his moral and emotional struggle. But, i think there was something lacking. Perhaps, Rhiannon could have been more unpredictable, Nathan could have been more engaged, or the Reverend Poole’s twisted could have been dwelled on more. I’m not sure…

All in all, it was still a good read. I’d give it 3.5/5 stars.

9781921922954  every_day___david_levithan_by_tributedesign-d70tqmp

(image source 1 and 2)

“The moment you fall in love feels like it has centuries behind it, generations – all of them rearranging themselves so this precise, remarkable intersection could happen. In your heart, in your bones, no matter how silly you know it is, you feel that everything has been leading to this, all the secret arrows were pointing here, the universe and time itself crafted this long ago, and you are just now realising it, you are just now arriving at the place you were always meant to be.” ― David Levithan, Every Day

Leave a Reply

